Eighth-seeded Buckeyes host regional May 7-9

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Selection Committee announced the 63-team field and nine individuals that will be contesting for the 2009 NCAA Championships Monday. Tournament action begins at three regional sites with Ohio State hosting the Central Regional, May 7-9 on its own Scarlet Course. The Buckeyes earned an eighth seed and below is a complete list of the 21 teams and three individuals traveling to Columbus:

1.      UCLA
2.      Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
3.      Purdue (Big Ten Conference)
4.      Wake Forest (Atlantic Coast Conference)
5.      Louisville (Big East Conference)
6.      Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
7.      Michigan State
8.      Ohio State
9.      Stanford
10.    New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
11.    Georgia State (Colonial Athletic Association)
12.    Notre Dame
13.    North Carolina State
14.    Washington
15.    Kentucky
16.    Chattanooga
17.    Michigan
18.    Harvard (Ivy Group)
19.    Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)
20.    Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)             
21.    Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)        

1.      Kendall Dye, Oklahoma
2.      Kayla Mortellaro,  Idaho
3.      Sara Wikstrom, Arkansas, Little Rock

The top 8 teams and top 2 individuals from each regional will advance to the 2009 NCAA Championships held May 19-22 at the Caves Valley Golf Club and will be hosted by Georgetown.

This is the 15th-consecutive NCAA regional the Buckeyes have played in and their 16th regional appearance overall under head coach Therese Hession. The team fell just short of advancing to the championships last season, tying for eighth and losing in a playoff.

“We are very excited to be hosting the Central Regional on our Scarlet Course,” Hession said. “It should be a great event and we look forward to three days of great competition.”

The Scarlet Course, which hosts the annual Lady Buckeye Invitational (women) and Robert Kepler Intercollegiate (men), hosted the men’s NCAA Central Regional in 2008. The last NCAA women’s event held there was the 2006 championships, which marked the official re-opening of the Scarlet Course after the redesign by Buckeye legend Jack Nicklaus.