April 21, 2017

Weber Runs Second Fastest 1,500m Time in School History


April 21, 2017

Live Results | Meet Schedule | Live Updates | Day One Results | Photo Gallery

Columbus, Ohio – It was a cool, breezy night at the Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium for the first day of action at the 32nd Jesse Owens Track and Field Classic, and it’s a night senior Rachel Weber will more than likely not forget.

Weber circled three and three quarters laps in the 1,500m run to clock a personal-best time of 4:21.08 to earn silver. Weber, who has entrenched herself in several of the Top 5 lists at Ohio State, entered another one with her 1,500m run time on Friday evening at home. She owns the No. 2 spot in five different individual events, including the outdoor 1,500m run.

The duo of Jake Mandel and Mitch Leitch ran with a comfort like none other on Friday evening. Cruising around the track in the 5,000m run, the twosome ran with each other from start to finish and claimed the top two spots on the podium while doing so. Both Mandel’s (14:35.80) and Leitch’s (14:40.40) were personal best. Kevin Blank joined the high-quality effort from the distance runners with a career-best time of 3:48.30 in the 1,500m run to place fifth.

Freshman Daniel Mastropaolo continues his big splash onto the javelin scene. Mastropaolo tossed the javelin a personal-best 64.66m (212-02) to earn the first title of his career. Senior Bill Stanley wedged himself into a fourth-place finish with a mark of 59.76m (196-01). Graduate transfer Alyssa Kopp threw her stick in the women’s javelin 44.49m (145-11) to finish in second.

The women’s hammer throw crew of Sade Olatoye, Kate Deaton, Alexis Dowdy and Grace Azenabor had themselves a personal-record party at the throwing field located behind the JOMS as every single one of them recorded a personal best. Olatoye took third in the invite only section of the hammer throw with a heave of 61.47m (201-08). Deaton won her first title of the 2017 season in the collegiate section of the event with a toss of 58.65m (192-05).

In the women’s 5,000m run, Christine Frederick (16:45.27) and Jessica Passwater (16:47.37/personal record) were the top Buckeye finishers in second and fourth place. Lainey Studebaker placed fifth with a personal best of 16:49.53, while Claire Wiles came in seventh with a personal best of 16:51.76. All three career-best times by Passwater, Studebaker and Wiles shave at least 10 seconds of their prior personal bests.

Patrick Kunkel and Sarah Kanney closed out the evening with personal bests in the most interesting race of the night, the 3,000m steeplechases. Kunkel closed with a time of 9:07.11 to earn silver, and Kanney garnered bronze with a readout of 10:33.53.

Day two will begin tomorrow at 10 a.m. with the pole vault and running events will start at noon. Senior recognition will take place at 4 p.m. 

Friday Personal Bests
Grace Azenabor – Hammer Throw – 53.48m (175-05)
Alexis Dowdy – Hammer Throw – 52.02m (170-08)
Steve Bauers – 1,500m Run – 4:04.47
Brittany Atkinson – 5,000m Run – 18:01.63
Clayton Bowie – 3,000m Steeplechase – 9:44.66

Parking | Saturday Parking Map

Parking on Friday will be free in every lot around the Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. On Saturday, fans are encouraged to park in the free lots to the northwest of the JOMS. See attached parking map above. Admission to the meet will be free both days. 

Hygiene Product Drive
In conjunction with Jesse Owens Track and Field Classic (April 21-22), the Ohio State track and field program has partnered with The Ohio State University Black Alumni Society (OSUBAS) to collect hygiene products that will be donated to the Mid-Ohio Food Bank.

The drive will take place on Saturday, April 22, from 9:30 a.m.-1 p.m. at the Southwest end of Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. Mid-Ohio has requested the following products: deodorant, shampoo, body wash, toothpaste, toothbrushes and bar soap.

History at the Jesse
Like J.O. Classics of the past, the 2017 edition will serve as a stage for collegiate and post-collegiate athletes to perform at their highest levels. In its history, the Jesse Owens Track and Field Classic has served as a top venue for many future and former Olympians. Current and past record holders for the Jesse Owens Track and Field Classic include Olympic medalists John Drummond, Michelle Finn, Allen Johnson, Edwin Moses, Dwight Stones and former Buckeyes Diane Dixon, Joe Greene and Butch Reynolds. Others of Olympic fame include Judi Brown, Roger Kingdom, Carl Lewis, Louise Ritter and Calvin Smith, as well as past OSU Olympians Mark Croghan and Stephanie Hightower. 

You can follow Ohio State track and field team on Twitter @OhioState_TFXC for live updates throughout the meet.