July 1, 2021

Wareti, Mercer and Seibert Named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars


Three Ohio State men’s tennis players – Jacob Wareti, JJ Mercer and Tim Seibert – were all named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for the 2020-21 academic season.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

Wareti wrapped up a tremendous academic year by being named a Distinguished Scholar for the third-consecutive year. The health sciences graduate also earned the A.K. & Judith A. Pierce Phoenix Award, the Fergus Memorial Award and was awarded a Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship. The Columbus, Ohio native has plans of becoming a doctor and will start medical school this fall.

Mercer and Seibert are both finance majors and both earned the Distinguished Scholar honor for the first time.

Ohio State Buckeyes