November 21, 2017

Walker-Hock’s Staff Named 2017 Midwest Region Staff of the Year


Nov. 21, 2017

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram | 2017 Schedule | Season Statistics | United Soccer Coaches Release

COLUMBUS, Ohio Lori Walker-Hock’s Ohio State coaching staff has been named Midwest Region Staff of the Year, the United Soccer Coaches announced Tuesday. The Buckeyes concluded the 2017 campaign with a 15-5-1 record and the first outright Big Ten championship in program history.

Walker-Hock and her staff of first-year assistant coaches Brian Jankowski and Michael Needham, first-year volunteer assistant/director of player development Cassie Dickerson and third-year director of operations Duncan Johnston helped guide the Buckeyes to their 12th NCAA Tournament appearance in program history, all under the direction of Walker-Hock.

Walker-Hock was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the third time while senior Nikki Walts was named Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and senior Morgan Wolcott earned Big Ten Defender of the Year laurels. Sammy Edwards joined Walts and Wolcott as first team All-Big Ten selections while Devon Kerr was named second team All-Big Ten. Izzy Rodriguez and Sarah Roberts picked up third team All-Big Ten honors while Rodriguez and Maddy Lowe were named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team. The Buckeyes earned five Big Ten weekly honors in 2017.