COLUMBUS, Ohio Ohio State freshman forward Paige Maxwell, from Medina, Ohio, has been named to the 2008 Big Ten Conference all-freshman team. The all-Big Ten teams were announced today by the league office. Players were selected by a vote of the conference’s 11 head coaches.

Maxwell, who departed today with the rest of the Buckeyes to compete in the Big Ten Conference tournament in Iowa City, Iowa, is tied for the team lead in goals (7) and points (16), and she leads the team in shots (37) and shots on goal (18). She has scored game-winners against Northwestern and Iowa.

Against Iowa, the former Medina High School and Cleveland Internationals star tied the Ohio State school record with three goals in the 3-2 Ohio State win. She scored in the 8th and 50th minutes off assists from Lauren Beachy. After Iowa scored in the 54th minute to close the gap to 2-1, Maxwell scored off her second header of the game 10 minutes later to give the Buckeyes another two-goal lead. Maxwell was named Big Ten offensive player of the week following the Iowa game and named her to its national team of the week.

Maxwell, a 5-10 forward who has been dominant at times inside the goal area “Maxwell’s house” this season, was destined to pick up “all-freshman” accolades this year. Before she even played a game for the Scarlet and Gray she was named to the EA Sports 2008 preseason Freshmen All-American Team. She was one of only three players from the Big Ten Conference named to the freshmen All-America team.

Then she went out and scored a goal in her first game as a Buckeye, Aug. 27, vs. Milwaukee, and the 2007 NSCAA/adidas high school and youth All-American has been a scoring threat for the Buckeyes ever since. She has played in all 19 games this season and has started 15 times. She’ll be in the starting lineup once again Thursday at 2 p.m. when Ohio State, 8-9-2 overall, plays Purdue in the first round of the Big Ten tournament.

Maxwell is the fifth Buckeye in the last five years to be named to the Big Ten’s all-freshman team. The list includes:

  • 2008 Paige Maxwell
  • 2007 Courtney Jenkins
  • 2006 Ashley Bowyer
  • 2005 Lisa Collison
  • 2004 Lara Dickenmann