COLUMBUS, Ohio Ohio State has secured its 13th Big Ten Conference tournament berth and will take on Purdue in a 1 p.m. Central Time (CT) game Thursday at the University of Iowa Soccer Complex in Iowa City, Iowa. The Buckeyes are the No. 6 seed and Purdue is No. 3.

The Buckeyes enter the tournament after an 8-9-2 regular season that included a 5-5-0 mark in conference play. Purdue, a nemesis of Ohio State of late with six consecutive wins over the Buckeyes, including a 3-0 win eight days ago in West Lafayette, Ind., went 11-6-3 this season and 5-3-2 in the Big Ten.

Penn State enters the tournament with a conference record of 8-2-0 to garner the number one seed.  Squaring off against the Nittany Lions will be No. 8 seed and host Iowa.  The Hawkeyes bring a 9-10-1 overall record to the tournament. The complete schedule for the opening round on Thursday includes the following games:

Game 1 at 10 a.m.
No. 2 Minnesota (18-2-0, 8-2-0 Big Ten) vs. No. 7 Northwestern (10-8-1, 5-5-0)
Game 2 at 1 p.m.
No. 3 Purdue (11-6-3, 5-3-2) vs. No. 6 Ohio State (8-9-2, 5-5-0)

Game 3 at 4 p.m.
No. 1 Penn State (13-7-0, 8-2-0) vs. No. 8 Iowa (9-10-1, 3-6-1)
Game 4 at 7 p.m.
No. 4 Michigan State (13-5-2, 5-4-1) vs. No. 5 Illinois (11-8-0, 5-5-0)

Tournament Live Stats
Watch live statistics of all the Big Ten Tournament games from the Iowa women’s soccer schedule page found at:
Big Ten Network to Televise Three Games
Both semifinal games Friday, at 1 p.m. CT and 3:30 p.m. CT, respectively, will be televised live by the Big Ten Network. The championship game at 2 p.m. CT Sunday will also be televised to a live national audience.

Will the Last Be Lucky 13th?
This will be the final Big Ten women’s soccer tournament. Ohio State is a two-time tournament champion, winning in 2002 and 2004, and would like nothing better than to capture a third, and the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament, in this, its 13th appearance. 

Ohio State Tournament Snapshot: 

  • This is the third consecutive year Ohio State has played in the Big Ten tournament and 13th time overall.
  • Ohio State advanced to its fourth tournament championship game in the 2007 event at the University of Minnesota, losing to Purdue in the finals, 3-1.
  • The winners of the Ohio State/Purdue and Minnesota/Northwestern matches meet in one semifinal Friday starting at 1 p.m. central time. The second semifinal begins at 3:30 p.m.
  • Ohio State and Purdue have met five times in the Big Ten tournament with each team winning twice with one tie. The tie came in a 2002 semifinal in East Lansing with Ohio State advancing, 5-4, on penalty kicks.
  • Purdue has won the last two times the teams have met in the tournament: 3-1 in the 2007 championship game and 2-1 in overtime in 2006 at University Park.
  • Ohio State defeated Purdue in tournament play in 2001 in West Lafayette, Ind., 2-1 in overtime, and, 2-0, in Columbus in 2004.