Dec. 11, 2002

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State’s women’s volleyball student-athlete Stacey Gordon (So., Oshawa, Ontario) has been named to the 2002 American Volleyball Coaches Association Mideast All-Region Team. The 5-10, outside hitter was the Big Ten Player of the Year this season in leading the Buckeyes to a 21-10 record.

OSU is preparing for the Thursday NCAA Pacific Regional semifinals at Stanford University. Ohio State (21-10) plays host Stanford (29-4) 30 minutes after the completion of the first semifinal with Minnesota (32-5) and Arizona (19-11) at 5 p.m. PT. The winners return Friday at 9 p.m. PT to play for a berth in the NCAA National Championship Semifinals.

Gordon leads Ohio State in kills (5.97) and digs per game (3.36). She was ranked third in the nation in kills per game at 5.90 on Nov. 24. She has had double-figure kills in her last 42 matches and in 60 of 62 career matches. Gordon has produced 20 or more kills in 21 matches this season and has had 32 or more kills in three matches this season with a career-high 36 at Michigan State.

Gordon was a 2001 Mideast All-Region Selection and later was named a second team All-American and the AVCA Freshman of the Year.


The Big Ten Conference has announced the 2002 Fall Academic All-Big Ten Team, including four Ohio State volleyball student-athletes. Named Academic All-Big Ten were Shelly Draeger (Sr., Milwaukee, Wis), Gordon, Suzie Stiling (Sr., Glenview, Ill.) and Katie Virtue (Sr., St. Charles, Ill.)

American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Mideast Region Team

Melissa Brewer Indiana MB Jr. Cassie Busse Minnesota RS/Opp Jr. Erin Byrd Wisconsin OH Sr. Paula Gentil Minnesota DS/Lib Fr. Stacey Gordon Ohio State OH So. Laura Hageman Ohio University MB Jr. Erika Lange Northwestern MB Jr. Mishka Levy Penn State MB Sr. Angela Morley Michigan State MB Sr. Morgan Shields Wisconsin S Jr. Cara Smith Penn State MB Jr. Lindsey Vander Well Minnesota S So.

Region Freshman of the Year: Paula Gentil, Minnesota, DS/Lib Honorable Mention: Lisa Argabright (Illinois, MB, Jr.), Katie Butts (Ball State, OH, Sr.), Erin Moore (Michigan, MB, Jr.), Camila Olaio (Eastern Michigan, S, Sr.), Sam Tortorello (Penn State, S, Fr.), Goedele Van Cauteren (Manhattan College, S/H, Jr.)