Dec. 14, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Stacey Gordon (Fr, Oshawa, Ontario), an outside hitter for the Ohio State women’s volleyball team, will be one of 24 players honored at the 21st annual All-America awards today at the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-America/Player of the Year banquet at the Dan Diego Marriott Hotel and Marina. She was named Wednesday to the second team, one of only two freshman to be so honored.

Gordon was a major impact for Ohio State this season helping the Buckeyes to a 27-4 overall record. OSU finished second in the Big Ten Conference with a 17-3 mark. OSU received an at-large bid to the NCAA Championship and advanced to the regional semifinals. She had a team-high 513 kills for a 4.75 kills per game average ranking 25th in the country. She had a .301 hitting percentage, averaged .35 aces per game (38), 3.06 digs per game (330) and .45 blocks per game (8 solos and 41 assists). Gordon had 29 matches with double-figure kills and 19 with double-figure digs.

Gordon, the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, was an All-Big Ten selection and was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman Team. She was honored three times as the Big Ten Freshman of the Year and was the AVCA/Sports Imports Division I National Player of the Week in matches against Penn State and Purdue. She was named to the AVCA Midwest All-Region Team. That honor qualified her for All-American consideration. Gordon was named to the All-Tournament Team at the NCAA Regional Championship.

First Team Aury Cruz, University of Florida OH So. 5-11 Dana Burkholder, University of Arizona S Sr. 5-8 Tayyiba Haneef, Long Beach State University OH Sr. 6-7 Amber Holmquist, University of Nebraska MB Jr. 6-4 Angela Knopf, Colorado State University MB Sr. 6-0 Sherisa Livingston, University of Wisconsin MB Sr. 6-2 Nancy Metcalf, University of Nebraska RS/Opp Sr. 6-1 Jenna Moscovic, Texas A&M University S Sr. 5-11 Jill Talbot, University of Arizona RS/Opp Sr. 6-0 Logan Tom, Stanford University OH Jr. 6-1 Cheryl Weaver, Long Beach State University MB Sr. 6-2 Kim Willoughby, University of Hawai’i OH So. 6-0

Second Team Greichaly Cepero, University of Nebraska S Jr. 6-2 Lizzy Fitzgerald, University of Wisconsin S Sr. 6-0 Stacey Gordon, The Ohio State University OH Fr. 5-11 Erin Hartley, Michigan State University OH Sr. 6-3 Benavia Jenkins, University of Florida MB So. 6-0 Ft. Jennifer Joines, University of the Pacific MB So. 6-3 Jenny Kropp, University of Nebraska MB Sr. 6-2 Keri Nishimoto, Long Beach State University S Sr. 5-7 Ogonna Nnamani, Stanford University OH Fr. 6-1 Katie Olsovsky, U. Southern California MB So. 6-3 Soraya Santos, Colorado State University RS/Opp Sr. 6-1 Katie Wilkins, Pepperdine University OH So. 6-4