July 8, 2016

Tyquan Lewis, Raekwon McMillan Up For Nagurski Trophy


July 8, 2016


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State junior defensive standouts Tyquan Lewis and Raekwon McMillan have each been selected to the watch list of the 2016 Bronko Nagurski Trophy. The award, presented by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club, honors the best defensive player in college football.

This is the second defensive “player of the year” watch list for the two Buckeyes: earlier this week the pair was named to the Bednarik Award watch list.

Lewis, a 6-4, 260-pound end from Tarboro (N.C.) High School, led the Ohio State defense in quarterback sacks last season with 8.0 and recorded 54 tackles.

McMillan, a 6-2, 240-pound middle linebacker from Hinesville, Ga., and Liberty County High School, led the Buckeyes in tackles with 119.

The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the award on Thursday, Nov. 17. The winner will then be selected from those finalists who are part of the 2016 FWAA All-America team.

Buckeyes on 2016 Watch Lists
~ QB J.T. Barrett – Maxwell Award
~ OC Pat Elflein – Rimington Trophy, Outland Trophy
~ P Cameron Johnnston – Ray Guy Award
~ DE Tyquan Lewis – Bednarik Award, Nagurski Trophy
~ LB Raekwon McMillan – Bednarik Award, Nagurski Trophy
~ OG Billy Price – Outland Trophy