COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 8 Ohio State men’s swimming team defeated Miami University, 144-79, and then followed with a nail-biting win vs.  No. 15 Tennessee, 151-149, in a doubleheader Friday at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

The win vs. Miami (1-3-1) gave the Buckeyes their 57th consecutive win against in-state opponents. Head coach Bill Wadley split the men’s swimming team into the two different meets and used a variety of swimmers in events they don’t normally swim. The Buckeyes won nine of the 13 events vs. Miami and finished 1-2 in seven events. There were 11 Ohio State swimmers that picked up their first wins of the year.

Picking up their first wins of the year vs. Miami were: freshman Joe Wulf, junior Marshall Farrell, and freshman Alex McCord. The three were also a part of the winning 200 medley relay team with freshman Kevin Lancki. McCord also was a part of the winning 200 freestyle relay team. The team consisted of three first-time winners: junior Steven Springer, freshman JJ Spangler, and freshman Ryan Bubb.

Also swimming to their initial victories of the year were senior Tom O’Neil (1000 and 500 freestyle), freshman Jacob Schuster (200 freestyle), sophomore Jason Schnur (50 freestyle), senior Bobby Jenrow (200 IM), junior Marshall Farrell (100 butterfly) and freshman Brett Boston (100 backstroke).

O’Niel, on top of winning the 1000 and 500 freestyle in the meet vs. Miami, finished sixth in the 500 freestyle in the meet vs. Tennessee. He covered more than 1.1 miles racing in the pool Friday. 

“Tom did a great job for us today.” Head coach Bill Wadley said. “He is really coming around as a senior, a swimmer and a leader.”

In the primetime matchup a raucous crowd watched two ranked and undefeated teams battle it out with No. 15 Tennessee (3-1) losing for the first time this season. The meet was back and forth all night and it felt as if whoever had the final win, would win the meet. That, ironically, was not the case.

The meet started out with the teams going back and forth, but it took a turn in the 200 butterfly when the Buckeyes finished in first (Quincy Lee), second (Luke Stirton), and third (Bobby Jenrow). This 1-2-3 finish gave the Scarlet and Gray a 67- 45 lead.

“Quincy Lee’s 200 IM was very special,” Wadley said. “He is really coming along in that event.”

The Volunteers would storm back, winning the next three events to take an 86-83 lead.

The 200 backstroke would prove to be another pivotal point in the meet. Tennessee freshman Samuel Rairden led for three-quarters of the race and looked like he was going to hand Andrew Elliott his first backstroke loss of the year. Elliott had a great final turn and overtook Rariden in the final 20 yards of the race to win his second event on the evening (100 backstroke). Elliott also swam the backstroke leg on the first-place 200 medley relay team.

Still going back and forth, Tennessee seemed to have the air let out of its side of the pool when Tim Phillips led the Buckeyes to a 1-2-3 finish in the 100 butterfly. Phillips also won the 200 freestyle and was a participant on the first-place 200 medley relay team.

With Justin Farra winning the 200 IM and the Buckeyes finishing second and third in the 400 freestyle relay, they closed out a 151-149 win.

“It went back and forth several times,” Wadley said. “I love facing a great coach and great program. We were prepared to split the final relay if we had to and that’s exactly what we did.”

The divers were also in the water this week and freshman Shane Miszkiel picked up the third win of his young career with a win on the three-meter dive vs. Miami.

“We are progressing well; it is very early in our year and we are trying to get better every meet,” diving coach Vince Panzano said.

Next up for the Buckeyes will be The Purdue Invitational in West Lafayette, Ind., Nov. 19-21. Ohio State finished second at the invitational last year.

Men’s Swimming

Friday, Nov. 12, 2010

Columbus, Ohio

McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion 

Team Scores:

Ohio State 144, Miami 79

Ohio State 151, Tennessee 149

Ohio State Event Winners vs. Miami University: 200 medley relay – Lancki, Wulf, Farrell, McCord (1:33.99); 1000 freestyle – O’Niell (9:30.49); 200 freestyle – Schuster (1:42.24); 100 backstroke – Boston (51.29); 50 freestyle – Schnur (20.89); 500 freestyle – O’Niell (4:37.96); 100 butterfly – Farrell (50.97); 200 IM – Jenrow (1:53.29); 200 freestyle relay – McCord, Springer, Spangler, Bubb (1:26.44);  Three meter diving – Shane Miszkiel (408.53).

Ohio State Event Winners vs. Tennessee: 200 medley relay – Elliott, Keefer, Phillips, Fahrbach (1:28.55); 200 freestyle – Phillips (1:37.84); 100 backstroke – Elliott (48.01); 200 butterfly – Lee (1:47.85); 200 backstroke – Elliott (1:46.34); 500 freestyle – Hitchcock (4:30.21); 100 butterfly – Phillips (48.38); 200 IM – Farra (1:49.21).