May 25, 2017

Two Ohio State Game Times & TV Networks Announced


May 25, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – ESPN and the Big Ten Conference announced a number of 2017 game times and television network carriers, including the first two games of the season for Ohio State and each will be played in prime time.

  • The season opener, set for Thursday, Aug. 31 at Indiana and in Memorial Stadium, will start at 8 p.m. eastern/7 p.m. central with ESPN televising; and
  • The home opener against Oklahoma, Sept. 9 in Ohio Stadium, will kick off at 7:30 p.m. eastern with ABC televising.

The remainder of the first three weeks of the 2017 Big Ten football schedule, including game times and television designations for BTN, ESPN and FOX networks will be released by May 31 as per the new Big Ten media rights agreements.

Also available by May 31 will be:

  • Start times for homecoming games;
  • Start times and networks for Thursday and Friday prime time games. Note: Minnesota’s opener takes place on Thursday, Aug. 31, the only additional Thursday game on the 2017 schedule.

Prime time games for the remainder of the season, starting with Week 4, will be announced 12 days prior to the game date, per the new media rights agreements. There will be more games played in prime time as part of the new agreements, but in no case may a network select a game for prime time less than 12 days prior to it being played.

2017 Ohio State Football Schedule
Aug. 31 – at Indiana / 8 p.m. EST on ESPN
Sept. 9 – Oklahoma / 7:30 p.m. EST on ABC
Sept. 16 – Army
Sept. 23 – UNLV
Sept. 30 – at Rutgers
Oct. 7 – Maryland (Homecoming)
Oct. 14 – at Nebraska
Oct. 21 – Off
Oct. 28 – Penn State
Nov. 4 – at Iowa
Nov. 11 – Michigan State
Nov. 18 – Illinois
Nov. 25 – at Michigan
Dec. 2 – Big Ten Championship Game