June 9, 2022

Two Field Finals and Three Individual Track Qualifiers Highlight First Day of NCAA Championships

Share

RESULTS | PHOTO GALLERY

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State track and field team began competition at the NCAA Championships on Wednesday with men’s events. Three Buckeye men qualified for individual event finals on Friday while two more competed in field event finals.

FIELD FINALS RESULTS

  • Hayden Tobias finished seventh in the shot put with his best throw going for 19.86m.
  • Robby Oswald finished 14th overall in the men’s pole vault by clearing 5.30m on his first attempt.

FINALS QUALIFIERS

  • Eric Harrison won his heat and was second overall in the 200m to earn his spot in the finals. He ran a personal-best 20.18, which moves him up to second on the program’s all-time leader list.
  • Kentre Patterson finished eighth overall and third in his heat (13.51) to advance to the finals in the 110m hurdles.
  • In the 400m, Tyler Johnson was eighth overall and third in his heat (45.58) to qualify for the finals.

SEMIFINALS RESULTS

  • Harrison finished 11th overall and fourth in his heat (10.23) in the semifinals of the 100m.
  • Zidane Brown, Donnie James, Praise Olatoke and Johnson finished 11th overall (3:03.68) in the 4x400m relay.
  • The men’s 4x100m relay squad finished 14th Kainnan Ramsey, Harrison, Adrian Curry and Olatoke ran a season-best time of 39.11.

UP NEXT

The Buckeye women begin competition at the NCAA Championships on Thursday at 8:32 p.m. ET (5:32 p.m. PT). The men’s competition resumes on Friday with the Buckeyes beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT).

#GoBucks