May 27, 2004

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State softball players Kristi DeVries and Megan Schwab were named members of the 2004 Big Ten Softball All-Tournament Team, the conference announced today. In the postseason eight-team tournament at the University of Michigan, the No. 6-seed Buckeyes upset No. 3-seed Iowa, 5-1, before falling to No. 2-seed Illinois, 5-0, in the semifinals.

During the two Ohio State games, DeVries went 1-1 on the mound and pitches 12.2 innings. She threw 13 strikeouts and batters hit .178 vs. the senior from Corona, Calif. DeVries batted .429 (3-of-7) with three hits, one double, two RBI and a team-high four total bases.

Schwab, an outfielder from Glendale, Ariz., started both games and also batted .429 (3-of-7) for the Buckeyes. Schwab had three hits, one run, one RBI and three total bases.

2004 Big Ten Softball All-Tournament Team:

Sarah Baumgartner, Illinois

Amanda Fortune, Illinois

Lindsey Hamma, Illinois

Jessica Beech, Michigan State

Natalie Furrow, Michigan State

*Brittney Green, Michigan State

Angel Merren, Michigan State

Kristen Amegin, Northwestern

Eileen Canney, Northwestern

Carri Leto, Northwestern

Kristi DeVries, Ohio State

Megan Schwab, Ohio State

*Tournament MVP