May 21, 2018

Tucker, Torpegaard and McNally Claim ITA Regional Honors


WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – After sweeping the Big Ten yearly awards, the Ohio State trio of Mikael Torpegaard, John McNally and Ty Tucker all added ITA Midwest Region accolades to their shelves on Monday.

Torpegaard was named the Senior Player of the Year, McNally took home Rookie of the Year honors and Tucker nabbed Coach of the Year accolades.

For Torpegaard, he becomes the ninth Buckeye to earn Senior Player of the Year and the second-straight, following Hugo Di Feolast year. He was a four-time Big Ten Athlete of the Week this season and earned his second Big Ten Athlete of the Year award. He is 28-7 on the season and has 16 wins over ranked opponents. Torpegaard has been ranked in the top-6 all season and has wins over the No. 1 and No. 2 ranked players in the country.

McNally is the seventh Buckeye to claim the Rookie of the Year award and what is more remarkable is this makes four-consecutive years that a Buckeye has taken the award. McNally is unbeaten in his last 14 matches and owns a singles record of 25-5. He is also 23-7 in doubles matches.

Tucker’s run of dominance didn’t slow this year as he guided the Buckeyes to a 13th-consecutive Big Ten title as well as the Big Ten Tournament title. The Buckeyes have lost just twice and have advanced to the NCAA Tournament semifinals for the fifth time in program history. This is his seventh ITA Midwest Region Coach of the Year honors.