May 19, 1999

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State University presented The Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor Award to senior baseball player Jason E. Trott (Dublin, Ohio) and Becky M. Borchers (Dayton, Ohio) at the 1998-99 Scholar-Athlete Dinner, held Wednesday evening in the Grand Ballroom of the Greater Columbus Convention Center.%^$

%^$ The Big Ten Medal of Honor Award was established by the Conference in 1914 to be awarded to each member institution to a student in the graduating class. An additional award for the top female was instituted in 1982. The two winners are chosen according to both academic and athletic proficiency. This honor includes a postgraduate scholarship for the recipients who choose to pursue a graduate or professional program at Ohio State.%^$

%^$ Trott, the Buckeye baseball captain, won the Big Ten batting title for an unprecedented third consecutive year this season. The four-year letterwinner is the career batting average leader at Ohio State. He helped lead the Buckeyes to the 1997 Big Ten Tournament Championship and was selected to the Big Ten all-Tournament team that year. He also was a vital cog in the Buckeyes rise to national prominence this season. The team won 46 games, including 25 in the Big Ten, tying the record for most conference victories, originally set by the 1994 OSU squad. Trotts work ethic and dedication to improving his conditioning and baseball skills have earned him the respect of his coaches and teammates. %^$

%^$ His interest in athletics and interest in the human body and to increase his capabilities led him to pursue an undergraduate degree in exercise science. In his curriculum, he has been named to the Deans List eight times and has earned a perfect 4.0 grade point average in five quarters. He has spent many volunteer hours helping young baseball players in the Cape Cod area and was awarded the George Loan Sportsmanship Award for his efforts.%^$

%^$ Borchers was an integral part of building the young Buckeye soccer program. Co-captain this year, Becky used her exceptional athletic ability, performance on the field with game-winning goals and multiple-goal games, leadership and competitive drive to lead the team to a successful season and its first Big Ten Championship game appearance. For her efforts, she was recognized as Big Ten Player of the Week, first team all-Big Ten and Regional All-American. Earning four varsity letters as a starter, she was also recognized by her team as Most Valuable Offensive Player her junior and senior years and the teams Most Valuable Player her senior year.%^$

%^$ She earned membership rights in the Alpha Delta/Phi Beta Sigma freshman honorary, and her academic achievements were recognized nine times on the Deans List as she tackled the rigors of an accounting major in the Fisher College of Business. She was named Ohio State Scholar-Athlete four times, Academic all-Big Ten all eligible years and GTE Student-Athlete of the Week this past fall. She was also involved in the Anchor Splash committee and various campus and community service projects.%^$

%^$ Ohio State saluted a total of 394 scholar-athletes at the dinner, including the following seniors who were honored with annual awards:%^$


Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award winners: Kate Brown (fieldhockey; Canton, Ohio), Lee Scott (synchronized swimming; St. Louis,Mo.), Mike Canales (mens gymnastics; Rochester, N.Y.) and JerryRudzinski (football; Centerville, Ohio). %^$

%^$ Fergus was a member of the Ohio State football team from 1912-14. The award includes four postgraduate scholarships which are given to the students who have excelled in athletics and academics, and have demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship.%^$


John T. Sr. And Hulda E. Edwards Award: Suzanne Arnold (crew;Franklin, Ohio).%^$

%^$The John T. Sr. and Hulda E. Edwards Award is given to a scholar-athlete who is enrolling in professional or graduate school at Ohio State. The recipient will have demonstrated academic and athletic achievement as well as a high quality of character and positive attitude toward the American free enterprise system.%^$


Leann Grimes-Davidge Award: Rebecca Borchers (womens soccer;Dayton, Ohio)%^$

%^$ The Leann Grimes-Davidge Award is given in honor of the former Ohio State tennis champion. Grimes-Davidge won four Big Ten tennis titles and represented Ohio State at the national level. The recipient of this award is the female athlete who best exemplifies Leanns outstanding qualities of athletic performance, scholarship, character, campus or community involvement and leadership.%^$


Irving and Melvin Schottenstein Award: Suzanne Arnold (crew;Franklin, Ohio)%^$

%^$ The Irving and Melvin Schottenstein Award was established in 1976 and was among the first designated to specifically honor the achievements of women in intercollegiate athletics at Ohio State. The recipient is provided with a postgraduate scholarship in the program of her choice at Ohio State. The athlete chosen to receive this award has demonstrated academic and athletic success and has contributed to the community through involvement in civic or University organization.%^$


-Go Bucks!-