July 24, 2013

VIDEO: Urban Meyer Press ConferenceVIDEO: BTN Ohio State Season Preview

Photo Gallery | Urban Meyer Transcript 

Park Ridge, Ill.– The Big Ten Conference announced today its third annual football Players to Watch list, with 10 players earning preseason recognition. The preseason Players to Watch list is selected by a media panel and consists of five student-athletes each from the Legends Division and Leaders Division.

Representing the Legends Division are Michigan quarterback Devin Gardner and offensive tackle Taylor Lewan, Michigan State linebacker Max Bullough, Nebraska quarterback Taylor Martinez and Northwestern running back Venric Mark.

A unanimous selection, Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller is one of three Buckeyes named to the Leaders Division Players to Watch list. Buckeye cornerback Bradley Roby and linebacker Ryan Shazier, Penn State wide receiver Allen Robinson and Wisconsin linebacker Chris Borland round out the division’s honorees.

Borland, Lewan and Miller were named to the Big Ten Football Players to Watch list for the second straight season.

The Players to Watch list includes the reigning Big Ten Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year and Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year in Miller, Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year in Lewan and Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year in Robinson.

Borland, Lewan, Mark and Roby have each been named All-Americans in past seasons. Four Legends Division players have earned All-Big Ten honors, including first-team accolades for Bullough, Lewan and Martinez and second-team laurels for Mark. All five Leaders Division honorees were first-team All-Big Ten selections last season.

The complete list of Big Ten football preseason Players to Watch appears below:

Devin Gardner, QB, Michigan
Taylor Lewan, OT, Michigan
Max Bullough, LB, Michigan State
Taylor Martinez, QB, Nebraska
Venric Mark, RB, Northwestern

Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State*
Bradley Roby, CB, Ohio State
Ryan Shazier, LB, Ohio State
Allen Robinson, WR, Penn State
Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin

*unanimous selection