January 30, 2017

Trio of Buckeyes Earn B1G Preseason Honors


Jan. 30, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten conference today announced its 2017 Big Ten Women’s Lacrosse preseason honors, with three Buckeyes earning recognition from the league’s head coaches. Those three individuals include two All-Big Ten defenders in senior Christina Turner and junior Shannon Rosati and junior attack Molly Wood.

Turner started all 17 games last season. She led the Buckeyes with 16 caused turnovers to go along with 17 ground balls and two draws from her defender position. She had a season-high four ground balls in the overtime win at California and recorded a career-high four caused turnovers in the 16-13 win over Penn State.

Rosati also started every game last season and proved to be one of the most consistent and steady defenders on the team, despite her statistics. She recorded 10 draw controls, 14 ground balls and six caused turnovers and scored her first career goal vs. Northwestern. She had a season-high three ground balls in the win at Michigan while also grabbing three draws.

Wood has started 35 of 37 career games in her first two seasons. Last season Wood led the team and finished third in the Big Ten with 79 draw controls, tying the school single-season record. The only Buckeye to score in every game last season, Wood was second on the team with 40 goals and eighth in the Big Ten with 2.35 goals per game.

The 2017 season begins next Monday, Feb. 6 when the Buckeyes welcome Vermont to the Woody Hayes Athletics Center. Opening draw is 7 p.m.

Women’s Lacrosse Preseason Honors List

Molly Wood, Jr., A
Shannon Rosati, Jr., D
Christina Turner, Sr., D

Caroline Federico, Sr., G
Emily Kenul, Jr., A
Haley Schweizer, Sr., M

Nadine Hadnagy, Sr., D
Zoe Stukenburg, Sr., M
Megan Whittle, Jr., A

Kim Coughlan, Sr., M/A
Madeline Dion, Sr., M
Anna Schueler, Sr., M

Christina Esposito, Sr., A
Selena Lasota, Jr., M
Sheila Nesselbush, Jr., M

Madison Carter, Soph., A/M
Steph Lazo, Sr., A
Abby Smucker, Sr., M

Amanda Casten, Jr., D
Kristina Dunphey, Sr., M
Amanda Turturro, Sr., A

1. Maryland
2. Penn State
3. Northwestern
4. Johns Hopkins
5. Ohio State
6. Rutgers
7. Michigan