July 10, 2018

Trio Garners Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Accolades


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Three members of the 2018 Ohio State women’s gymnastics team earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors, the conference announced Tuesday.

To earn the recognition, student-athletes must earn Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full-time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades.

Nevin Adamski (Biology), Amanda Huang (Finance) and Stefanie Merkle (Sport Industry) are three of 1,143 Big Ten student-athletes to claim the accolade for the 2017-18 academic year.

The Buckeyes concluded the 2018 campaign with a third-place finish at the NCAA Columbus Regional, their best finish since 2012.