July 5, 2021

Trio Earns B1G Distinguished Scholar Accolades


Three members of the 2021 Ohio State women’s tennis team – Irina Cantos Siemers, Luna Dormet and Kathleen Jones – have been named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars.

Cantos Siemers, who was a sophomore, is a communication major, while Dormet earned her bachelor’s degree in political science in the spring following her senior season and is now a two-time B1G Distinguished Scholar. Jones is a journalism major and was a redshirt sophomore in 2021. The Buckeyes won both the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles and reached the NCAA Round of 16.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher for a student-athlete’s academic career. In all, the B1G honored 2,132 student-athletes across the conference as Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for 2020-21.

Ohio State Buckeyes