COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State football head coach Jim Tressel and director of military appreciation Bob Tucker were recognized at Tuesday’s press conference for their significant contributions to the Ohio National Guard.

Maj. Gen. Gregory L. Wayt, Ohio adjutant general announced today that the they have been selected by The National Guard Association of the United States (NGAUS) to receive the Patrick Henry award. The award recognizes local officials and civic leaders, who in a position of great responsibility distinguish themselves with outstanding and exceptional service to the Armed Forces of the United States, the National Guard or NGAUS.

Coach Tressel has been an ardent supporter of service members in general and the Ohio National Guard in particular for the past several years. Following his 2009 Coaches Tour visit to troops at U.S. military installations in Germany, Turkey, Iraq, Kuwait, Djibouti, and Spain, Tressel actively sought out avenues to support military members, especially Ohio’s hometown service members, going so far as to establish a staff position of director of military appreciation, and recording public service announcements supporting recruiting in the Ohio National Guard.

Bob Tucker, the former Director of Football Operations for The Ohio State University, currently serves as the Director of Military Appreciation. Over the past several seasons, he has coordinated military appreciation events honoring Ohio service members with free admission and on-field recognition during nationally televised hometown football games in front of capacity crowds of more than 100,000 people. During the 2009 OSU season, he provide opportunities for more than 500 Ohio National Guard Soldiers and Airmen to attend the OSU vs. New Mexico State football game, an unprecedented gift of free game tickets.

“Without question these individuals have each made significant contributions and provide unwavering support the men and women that serve this state and our nation,” said Wayt. “I could not be more pleased that their efforts are receiving national recognition.”