COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State junior quarterback Terrelle Pryor is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Maxwell Award, senior cornerback Chimdi Chekwa is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Bednarik Award and head coach Jim Tressel is one of 15 candidates for the first annual Joseph V. Paterno Award for Coach of the Year.

Pryor leads a Buckeye offense that is averaging a Big Ten-best 40.8 points per game and is one of seven active FBS quarterbacks with at least 1,000 career rushing yards and 5,000 passing yards. He leads all Big Ten quarterbacks with 20 touchdown passes and ranks fifth in the nation in passer efficiency with a 165.2rating. Pryor has completed 67 percent of his passes for 1,997 yards and has thrown at least one touchdown pass in all but one game. He also has rushed for 463 yards and four touchdowns, which include three 100-yard rushing performances.

The Jeannette, Pa., native had his best all-around game against No. 12 Miami (FL) in September when he threw for 233 yards and a score and rushed for a career-high 113 yards and another score in the 36-24 win. In the win over Ohio, Pryor set a school-record with 16 consecutive completions against the Bobcats, the second most in Big Ten history. Pryor would go on to set another school record the very next game against Eastern Michigan by accounting for six touchdowns in a single game: four passing, one rushing and one receiving.

A native of Clermont, Fla., Chekwa is tied for second in the Big Ten with three interceptions in 2010. He recorded two in the win over No. 12 Miami (FL) back in September when he also broke up two pass attempts and recorded six tackles, including one for a loss. He is coming off one of his best games of the season at Minnesota where he recorded an interception and had one sack that caused a fumble and led to a John Simon touchdown late in the game. On the season, Chekwa has 28 tackles (22 solo), 4.0 TFL, 1.0 sack, two forced fumbles, three picks and five pass break-ups.

The Joseph V. Paterno Award for Coach of the Year is decided on by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee. To honor the spirit of Coach Paterno’s persona, the winner is based on success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community.

The three finalists for the award will be announced on Monday, December 6th.  The formal announcement of the award will be made on Saturday, December 18th, 2010.