56 nominated for collegiate punting top honor.

(November 1, 2007) – The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced today the top ten semi-finalists for the 2007 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter. This year 56 punters were nominated for the honor. Each of the punters on the list was evaluated on his overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage, and percentage not returned.

The award is named for Thomson, Georgia resident Ray Guy, a 2004 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee and perennial candidate for the National Football League Hall of Fame. Guy, who played with the Oakland Raiders from 1973 to 1986, is, perhaps, the first punter who could change the make-up of a game with his kicking style. It is said “hang-time” was added to football vernacular because of Ray Guy, who was known for his soaring kicks and deadly precision. This namesake award, created by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, was begun in 2000. Mr. Guy said about this year’s candidates, “It is obvious this outstanding group of punters have focused on team success instead of individual accomplishments. Everyone on our top-ten list have performed unselfishly, qualifying each to be worthy of being named the nation’s top punter.”

A national voting body of Division 1-A coaches, sports information directors, national media, and former punters will decide the three award finalists, and ultimately the winner of this year’s award. The winner will be announced live on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards show, Thursday, December 6, 2007. The winner will again be honored at the Greater Augusta Sports Award Gala in early 2008.

2007 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalist

Name School Class
Durant Brooks Georgia Tech Senior
Keenyn Crier Arizona Freshman
Kevin Huber Cincinnati Junior
Brett Kern Toledo Senior
Andrew Larson California Senior
Chris Miller Ball State Junior
Tim Reyer Kansas State Senior
Louie Sakoda Utah Junior
A.J. Trapasso Ohio State Junior
Ben Woods Buffalo Senior