January 14, 2022

Track and Field Opens Indoor Season at Big Ten Invite


Ohio State at the Big Ten Midwest Invite

Date: Saturday, Jan. 15, 2022

Time: 12:45 p.m. for field events, 3:25 p.m. ET for track events

Venue: Gately Park (Chicago, Ill.)

Meet information: Live results | Schedule

Rosters: Ohio State (women) (men) | Illinois (women) (men) | Minnesota (women) (men) | Purdue (both) | Wisconsin (women) (men)


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State track and field team opens the indoor season at the Big Ten Midwest Invite on Saturday in a meet hosted by Wisconsin and taking place in Chicago. Field events begin at 12:45 p.m. ET with the weight throw, while track events begin at 3:25 p.m. ET with the women’s preliminary rounds of the 60m hurdles.

  • The Ohio State men finished third at the 2021 Big Ten Indoor Championships. The Buckeyes had four named all-conference first team and one named to the second team.
  • Tyler Johnson individually captured the 200m and 400m championships and ran a leg of the winning 4x400m relay team as he set the meet record in the 400m.
  • The Ohio State women finished eighth at the 2021 Big Ten Indoor Championships.
  • Adelaide Aquilla defended her shot put title with a throw of 17.7m / 58-1, which was close to her PR (17.82).
  • The Illinois men finished ninth at last season’s indoor championships, totaling 50 points, while their women finished 11th with 32 points.
  • The Fighting Illini took home titles in the men’s weight throw and women’s one mile.
  • Minnesota is the defending Big Ten indoor champion on the women’s side as the Gophers accumulated 138 points, 58 more than the runner-ups. The Minnesota men finished fifth at the conference championships last season, just one point shy of fourth place.
  • The Gophers took home the titles in the men’s one mile, women’s 60m, women’s 200m, women’s 600m, women’s 4x400m relay, women’s DMR and women’s weight throw.
  • Purdue placed sixth on the men’s side and 10th on the women’s side at the 2021 Big Ten Indoor Championships.
  • The Boilermakers took home titles in the men’s long jump heptathlon and women’s high jump.
  • The Wisconsin women finished fourth while their men were eighth at last season’s championships.
  • The Badgers took home titles in the men’s DMR and men’s 1000m heptathlon.