May 1, 2014


EVANSTON, ILL.  – Tori DeScenza headlines the list of Ohio State women’s lacrosse award winners as the 2014 American Lacrosse Conference Goalie of the Year, announced Thursday morning by the league as it prepares for the ALC Tournament today in Evanston, Ill. DeScenza joins junior attack Jackie Cifarelli and junior defense Taylor Donahue as members of the All-ALC First Team, while senior attack Katie Chase earned a second-team recognition.

The second-seeded Buckeyes will take on seventh-seed Michigan at 7 p.m. CT Thursday at Lakeside Field in the third quarterfinal contest.  The game will be streamed live on

DeScenza led the ALC throughout the regular season in save percentage (.496) and has been in the Top 3 in saves (129) and saves per game (7.59). In the national rankings, DeScenza ranks eighth in the country in save percentage, tenth in goals-against average (7.89) and 21st in saves (129). She has guided a team that is 12th in the nation in scoring defense (8.00). The native of Sea Bright, N.J., DeScenza claims her first career first team honor after being named to the second team in 2013. She was recognized twice this year by the ALC as Defensive Player of the Week March 11 when she collected a season-high 13 stops, including nine in the second half and three in overtime to help the team upset Northwestern, 11-10, in Columbus. She then claimed the weekly honor again on April 22nd following an 11-save performance in a win over nationally-ranked Notre Dame in Columbus. DeScenza is 12-5 overall in 2014 with a 7.89 goals-against average.

Cifarelli collects her first career first team ALC honor after being named to the second team in 2013. A native of Rockville Center, N.Y., she has led the team in points throughout the year and currently ranked third in the conference with 59 points heading into the tournament. Cifarelli also is second in the country in assists (43) and assists per game (2.53). A 2014 Tewaaraton Trophy Nominee, Cifarelli has had multi-point performances in 14 of 17 games, while claiming at least four points in seven contests. She has had three-consecutive years of at least 50 points and is tied for fifth on the OSU all-time career wins list with 182 career points (60g, 122a). She brings an eight-game point streak to Evanston, collecting 29 points during the span.

Donahue, a native of Shamong, N.J., claims her first career ALC honor on the first team. The third-year OSU started has helped lead a team that has been ranked in the Top 15 in scoring defense throughout the regular season (8.00). She has started all 17 games for the Scarlet and Gray and is second on the squad with a season-high 28 groundballs and leads the Buckeyes with 11 caused turnovers. Donahue has notched 14-consecutive games with a groundball heading into the tournament.

Chase, a native of Woodbine, Md., she earns her second-consecutive second team honor after totaling a team-high 42 goals during the regular season. Chase has scored a goal in 13 of 14 games she has played in this season, collecting at least three goals in an impressive nine games. The OSU attack had a career performance vs. Oregon March 26, picking up eight points on seven goals vs. the Ducks – one goal shy of tying the OSU all-time single-game record. Chase capped the 100-career point mark when she scored her first of four goals in the home win against Penn State April 13 in Columbus. She is 12th in the country in goals per game (3.00) – which is second-best in the conference. The OSU attack brings a 10-game point streak to Evanston, collecting 35 points during the stretch since March 4.

ALC Goalie of the Year: Tori DeScenza, Ohio State
ALC Defensive Player of the Year: Lauren Purvis, Penn State
ALC Midfielder of the Year: Shannon Gilroy, Florida
ALC Offensive Player of the Year: Taylor D’Amore, Johns Hopkins
ALC Rookie of the Year: Sammi Burgess, Florida
ALC Coach of the Year: Amanda O’Leary, Florida

2014 ALC First Team
Nora Barry, Florida
Sammy Cermack, Johns Hopkins
Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State
Madison Cyr, Penn State
Taylor D’Amore, Johns Hopkins
Tori DeScenza, Ohio State
Taylor Donahue, Ohio State
Alyssa Dunlap, Vanderbilt
Shannon Gilroy, Florida
Kerri Harrington, Northwestern
Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern
Lauren Purvis, Penn State

2014 ALC Second Team
Bridget Bianco, Northwestern
Sammi Burgess, Florida
Katie Chase, Ohio State
Kaleigh Craig, Northwestern
Dené DiMartino, Johns Hopkins
Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida
Kate McDonald, Northwestern
Maggie McCormick, Penn State
Jenna Mosketti, Penn State
Anna Schueler, Michigan
Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins
Abby Wheeler, Vanderbilt