January 17, 2023

Title IX: Swimming & Diving Claims Three Straight Big Ten Titles


The Ohio State women’s swimming and diving program has continued its tradition of excellence, claiming three straight Big Ten titles.

The Buckeyes are second in the Big Ten in team championships with eight total; the team won five straight from 1982-86, before its most recent streak (2020-22).

In 2022, the Buckeyes won six events at the Big Ten Championships and earned 12 individual medals to finish with 1,303 points. Hannah Bach (200 medley relay, 400 medley relay, 100 breast), Emily Crane (200 medley relay, 400 medley relay), Amy Fulmer (800 free relay, 400 medley relay, 200 free), Paige Hall (800 free relay), Teresa Ivan (200 medley relay), Kristen Romano (800 free relay, 200 IM), Katie Trace (800 free relay) and Katherine Zenick (200 medley relay, 400 medley relay) were all Big Ten champions and earned First Team All-Big Ten honors.

Following their Big Ten Championship, the Buckeyes went on to finish ninth at the 2022 NCAA Championships, earning their first-ever back-to-back top 10 finishes.

The Buckeyes finished with 1,584 points at the 2021 Big Ten Championships and picked up seven event wins. Ohio State placed a conference-high nine student-athletes on the All-Big Ten First Team: Fulmer, Crane, Freya Rayner, Bach, Zenick, Trace, Romano, Taylor Petrak and Sally Tafuto. The team finished seventh at the NCAA Championships, its best finish in program history.

In 2020, the Buckeyes claimed their first Big Ten title since 1986. They had three individual Big Ten champions and earned a win in the 200 free relay. Seven Buckeyes (Mackenzie Crawford, Kathrin Demler, Fulmer, Lucija Jurkovic-Perisa, Molly Kowal, Petrak and Rayner) earned First Team All-Big Ten recognition and Bach, Rebekah Bradley, Trace and Georgia White were Second Team All-Big Ten honorees.