COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s track and field team travels to Auburn, Ala., this Friday and Saturday for the Tiger Track Classic.

Only two events will be contested Friday afternoon at Hutsell-Rosen Track, the javelin and hammer throw, with both set to begin at approximately 5:30 ET. The rest of the action takes place on Saturday, with field events starting at noon and running events beginning at around 1 p.m. Live results will be available at and a complete recap will be available after the meet at

Competing Teams
No. 13 Auburn
Georgia Tech
Kent State
No. 21 Kentucky
Miami (OH)
Middle Tennessee
Ohio State
Southern Miss
Wake Forest

Manning Captures First All-American Award at NCAA Championships
Christina Manning’s meteoric rise to national prominence continued March 13 at the NCAA indoor championships, as the sophomore became a first-time All-American after a seventh-place finish in the finals of the 60m hurdles (8.30).

Manning is Ohio State’s first indoor All-American since Veronica Jatsek in 2008 and is the first Buckeye 60m hurdler to earn an All-American award since Dalanda Jackson in 2002.

Dennis Named Great Lakes Coach of the Year by USTFCCCA
Ohio State women’s track and field head coach Karen Dennis was named Great Lakes Coach of the Year by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) March 9.

In her fourth year as head coach of the Buckeyes, Dennis led the women’s program to new heights during the 2010 indoor season, highlighted by her squad’s second-place finish at the Big Ten indoor championships Feb. 28. Only a year removed from a ninth-place effort at the conference finals, the Buckeyes increased their overall team score by more than 50 points while claiming two individual Big Ten titles. As a team, OSU posted eight NCAA provisional qualifying marks during the indoor campaign.

Buckeyes Ink Seven for 2010-2011
Seven talented student-athletes are set to join the Ohio State women’s track and field team for the 2010-2011 school year, head coach Karen Dennis announced March 8. A look at the newest additions to the Buckeye family:

Adenike Pedro // Sprints/Hurdles – Bladensburg, Md. – Elizabeth Seton
Pedro finished third in the long jump last season at the 2009 Nike Outdoor Track & Field Championships. As a senior, Pedro is currently ranked fifth in country in the long jump and is also one of the top rated sprinters in the country in the 55m, 100m and 200m dashes

Chesna Sykes // Sprints/Hurdles – Columbus, Ohio – Bishop Hartley
One of the top ten 100m runners in the country, Sykes is the 2009 OHSAA Division II state champion in both the 100m and 200m dashes. She placed fourth last year at the 2009 USATF World Youth Track and Field Trials and will look to make a quick impact in Columbus.

KaChay Hullum // Sprints/Hurdles – Akron, Ohio – Firestone
A versatile athlete that will be able to cover a wide range of events, Hullum is a two time OHSAA track and field championship qualifier. Ohio State will be look to use Hullum’s talents in everything from the 100m to the 600m. 

Madeline Hurdt // Throws – Boerne, Texas – Boerne
The 2009 Texas state champion in the shot put, Hurdt was also the sixth-place finisher in the discus. Named the 2008 and 2009 Boerne Field Athlete of the Year, Hurdt took home an impressive first-place finish in the shot put at the prestigious Texas Relays this past year.

Meredith Wagner // Distance – Sylvania, Ohio – Northview
Wagner won the 2009 OHSAA Division I cross country championship. She is a two time state qualifier in cross country and 2009 state track qualifier in the 3200m.

Mallory Kreider // Distance – Kingsville, Ohio – Edgewood
Kreider was the 2009 OHSAA Division II indoor and outdoor state champion in the 3200m and is a three-time state qualifier in cross country as well as track and field. 

Angela Williams // Distance – Hudson, Ohio – Hudson
A two-time OHSAA championship qualifier in cross country, Williams is also an accomplished track athlete, having qualified for competition in the 1600m at the 2009 OHSAA DI championships.

Jesse Owens Track Classic Set for April 30
Athletes from all levels, including individuals from more than 35 colleges are scheduled to compete at the 25th Jesse Owens Track Classic Friday April 30th and Saturday, May 1.

Like the “J.O. Classics” of the past, the 2010 edition will serve as a stage for scholastic, collegiate and post-collegiate athletes to perform at their highest levels in Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. In its history, the Jesse Owens Track Classic has served as a top venue for many future and former Olympians. Current and past record holders for the Jesse Owens Track Classic include Olympic medalists John Drummond, Michelle Finn, Allen Johnson, Edwin Moses, Dwight Stones and former Buckeyes Diane Dixon, Joe Greene and Butch Reynolds. Others of Olympic fame include Judi Brown, Roger Kingdom, Carl Lewis, Louise Ritter and Calvin Smith, as well as past OSU Olympians Mark Croghan and Stephanie Hightower.

Visit for more information.

Last Time Out
The Buckeyes’ up-and-coming relay teams dominated the competition at NC State last weekend, posting Top 2 finishes in the 4x100m, 4x200m and 4x400m events. The 4x100m team of Christienne Linton, Christina Manning, Nyjah Cousar and Letecia Wright sprinted its way to a first-place finish in 45.67, the best time in the Big Ten so far this season and a Top 20 performance nationally. The 4x200m (1:38.95) and 4x400m (3:41.53) teams were second in their respective events – the 4x400m time is the best in the Big Ten and sixth-best nationally.

Wright cruised to an easy win in the 100m hurdle finals with a time of 13.40. The Baltimore, Md., native set the fourth-best time nationally (13.33) in the preliminary round.

Manning and Shaniqua McGinnis impressed in the 200m dash. Manning, a 2010 indoor All-American, ran a Big Ten-best and Top 15 national time of 23.97 to finish in second, while McGinnis took fourth in 24.05, second-best in the conference.

Big Ten 400m champion McGinnis picked up right where she left off during the indoor season, cruising to a first-place finish in the 400 in 54.23, best in the conference. Latoya Sanderson took fourth in 55.31.

Kelcey McKinney won the long jump with a personal record jump of 5.97m (19-7), fifth-best in Ohio State outdoor history and the best in the Big Ten so far this outdoor season.

Sophomore Maggie Mullen shattered her own school record in the javelin with a third-place mark of 48.30m (158-05), tops in the Big Ten. She also finished fourth in the hammer throw with a toss of 54.71m (179-06), currently the best mark in the Big Ten.

Senior Katie Williams finished eighth in the 1500m with a time of 4:31.01, fourth-best in OSU outdoor history and the fourth-best run in the Big Ten.

Two Buckeyes finished in the 5000m Top 10. Ellen Birmingham sparked the Buckeye charge with a fourth-place and PR time of 16.44.14, while Sarah Foster finished eighth in 16:56.54.

Up Next
Ohio State will take a week off before traveling to Louisville, Ky., for the Lenny Lyles Cardinal Invitational April 15 and 16.