COLUMBUS, Ohio – Tickets for the third annual BIG EAST-Big Ten Baseball Challenge, hosted by the St. Petersburg/Clearwater Sports Commission, are now available at The Big East-Big Ten Baseball Challenge will feature eight teams from each conference playing in 24 games over three days to open the college baseball season from Feb. 18-20.

Ohio State, under the direction of first-year coach Greg Beals, will take on Cincinnati at 1 p.m. Feb. 18 at Al Lang Field/Progressive Energy Park in St. Petersburg, Louisville Feb. 19 at 4 p.m. at Bright House Field in Clearwater, and St. John’s Feb. 20 at 10 a.m. at the Walter Fuller Baseball Complex in St. Petersburg. The Buckeyes are 5-1 all-time in BIG EAST-Big Ten Challenge games.

An all-tournament pass, which provides access to all 24 games of the Challenge, can be purchased for $25. Individual day passes are available for $10 and admit a spectator to all games at all venues for that day. Alumni groups, youth and social organizations also can sell all-tournament passes with a portion of the proceeds going to the selling organization.

The 2011 Challenge will feature tripleheaders at Jack Russell Memorial Stadium and Al Lang Field on Friday and Saturday, while the same ballparks will host doubleheaders on Sunday morning and afternoon. Friday also features an evening doubleheader at Dunedin Stadium, while Bright House Field hosts a twin bill on Saturday night. The Challenge also includes four games played on Sunday morning and afternoon at the Walter Fuller Baseball Complex.

Teams participating in this year’s event are Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh, St. John’s, Seton Hall and West Virginia from the BIG EAST and Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue from the Big Ten.

The Big Ten won the inaugural Challenge in 2009, 15-9, while the BIG EAST was victorious in 2010, 17-13.

The complete schedule for the 2011 BIG EAST-Big Ten Baseball Challenge follows.


10 a.m. Games – Iowa at West Virginia (Jack Russell Memorial Stadium); Penn State at Seton Hall (Al Lang Field)

1 p.m. Games – Minnesota at St. John’s (Jack Russell Memorial Stadium); Ohio State at Cincinnati (Al Lang Field)

4 p.m. Games – Illinois at Pittsburgh (Jack Russell Memorial Stadium); Michigan at Louisville (Al Lang Field); Michigan State at Notre Dame (Dunedin Stadium)

7:30 p.m. Game – Purdue at Connecticut (Dunedin Stadium)


10 a.m. Games – Cincinnati at Illinois (Russell Memorial Stadium); Seton Hall at Michigan State (Al Lang Field)

1 p.m. Games – West Virginia at Penn State (Jack Russell Memorial Stadium); St. John’s at Michigan (Al Lang Field)

4 p.m. Games – Connecticut at Minnesota (Jack Russell Memorial Stadium); Notre Dame at Purdue (Al Lang Field); Louisville at Ohio State (Bright House Field)

7:30 p.m. Game – Pittsburgh at Iowa (Bright House Field)


10 a.m. Games – Michigan at Connecticut (Jack Russell Memorial Stadium); Louisville at Minnesota (Al Lang Field); Penn State at Notre Dame (Walter Fuller Baseball Complex); St. John’s at Ohio State (Walter Fuller Baseball Complex);

1 p.m. Games – Cincinnati at Michigan State (Jack Russell Memorial Stadium); Illinois at West Virginia (Al Lang Field); Seton Hall at Iowa (Walter Fuller Baseball Complex); Purdue at Pittsburgh (Walter Fuller Baseball Complex)

All times EST