Feb. 22, 2007

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s hockey team will host the first round of the 2007 Central Collegiate Hockey Association Playoffs in a best-of-three series March 2-4 at the OSU Ice Rink. Gametime for Games 1 and 2 will be at 7:05 p.m. The start time for Game 3, if necessary, has not yet been determined.

Because of limited seating capacity, ticket availability is limited to season ticket holders and students. Tickets are available on a first-come, first-served basis and some season ticket holders will be refunded if the demand exceeds capacity. To request tickets for the series, which were paid for as part of the 2006-07 season ticket package, season ticket holders must contact the Ohio State Athletics Ticket Office (614-292-2624/800-GO BUCKS). The ticket office will accept requests beginning at 8 a.m. Monday (Feb. 26) through 5 p.m. Wednesday (Feb. 28) during normal business hours (8 a.m.-5 p.m.). Additional tickets may not be requested. Any season ticket holder that does not call the office by 5 p.m. Wednesday to request playoff tickets will receive a refund.

There are a limited number of tickets available for purchase for current Ohio State students. Tickets are $15 for the series and must be purchased in advance by calling the ticket office.

All seating in the OSU Ice Rink will be general admission.

Ohio State’s opponent for the first-round series has not yet been determined. League teams are wrapping up regular-season play this weekend. All 12 teams qualify for the CCHA playoffs. The Top 4 teams in the final conference standings earn first-round byes, with Nos. 5-8 hosting Nos. 9-12 in best-of-three series. The first-round series winners will advance to the quarterfinal round which will be hosted by the Top 4 seeds. Those four best-of-three series winners will advance to the 2007 CCHA Championship at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit.

Ohio State closes out the regular season with a two-game home series against No. 10 Michigan this weekend. The Buckeyes and Wolverines will meet at 7:05 p.m. Friday and at 8:05 p.m. Saturday in Value City Arena.