May 12, 2004

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State softball players Kristi DeVries, Jamee Juarez and Karisa Evans were awarded All-Big Ten honors Wednesday, the conference announced. DeVries, a senior pitcher and first baseman from Corona, Calif., earned a spot on the second team as a utility player, while Juarez, a rookie pitcher and third baseman from La Puente, Calif., was the utility player on the third team. Evans, a junior outfielder from Franklin, Ohio, joined Juarez on the third team as an outfielder.

DeVries, who was a third team all-conference pick as a freshman, is 15-9 on the mound for Ohio State this season and currently is on a seven-game winning streak. Only the second player in Ohio State history to tally 600 career strikeouts, DeVries owns a 1.68 ERA this season and a 1.53 career ERA with a 58-27 overall record in four years at Ohio State. DeVries has played in 44-of-47 games this season and is batting .219 with 14 hits, five doubles and seven RBI.

Juarez has started in all 53 games she has played in wearing the Scarlet and Gray. With a .303 average, Juarez leads the squad with 36 RBI and has tallied 47 hits, 25 runs, 73 total bases, 12 doubles, one triple and four homeruns. Juarez is 12-10 from the mound with one save for the Buckeyes with a 1.84 ERA. Juarez has tallied 80 assists, 39 putouts, owns a .975 fielding percentage and has stolen 8-of-10 bases for the Buckeyes.

Evans has started in 54-of-55 contests this season and is one of only two Buckeyes to compete in all 55 games. She is batting .318 with 24 runs, 68 total bases and 50 hits, which ranks second on the team. Evans has notched five doubles, two triples, three homeruns and 18 RBI. In addition to six sacrifice hits and two sacrifice flies to her name, Evans has stolen 5-of-7 bases this year. Defensively, Evans owns a .941 fielding percentage and has marked 32 putouts.

No. 6-seed OSU (33-22; 8-11 Big Ten) will play No. 3 Iowa (38-21; 14-6 Big Ten) in the single-elimination 2004 Big Ten Tournament at noon Friday in Ann Arbor, Mich. The winner of the Ohio State-Iowa game will face the winner of the No. 2 Illinois and No. 7 Penn State game at 5 p.m. Saturday. The championship game will be at 2:30 p.m. Saturday and will be broadcast by CSTV.


FIRST TEAM Jenna Hall, SO, Illinois 1B Tiffany Haas, SO, Michigan 2B Grace Leutele, SO, Michigan 3B Jessica Merchant, JR, Michigan SS Monica Schock, SR, Michigan C Jessica Beech, SR, Michigan State UT Natalie Johnson, JR, Iowa OF Angel Merren, SR, Michigan State OF Erin Mobley, JR, Northwestern OF Garland Cooper, FR, Northwestern DP Amanda Fortune, SR, Illinois P *Nicole Motycka, JR, Michigan P

SECOND TEAM Jennifer Olds, SR, Michigan 1B Carri Leto, SR, Northwestern 2B Kristen Amegin, SO, Northwestern 3B Stacy May, SO, Iowa SS Tory Yamaguchi, FR, Indiana C Kristi DeVries, SR, Ohio State UT Abby Stark, SR, Indiana OF Meghan Wolfer, FR, Penn State OF Angela Knight, SR, Purdue OF Jennifer Williams, FR, Penn State DP Lisa Birocci, JR, Iowa P Eileen Canney, FR, Northwestern P

THIRD TEAM Natalie Furrow, SR, Michigan State 1B Emily Gerlick, SO, Iowa 2B Erin Jones, SR, Illinois 3B Lindsey Hamma, SR, Illinois SS Boo Gillette, JR, Wisconsin C Jamee Juarez, FR, Ohio State UT Rachelle Coriddi, SO, Illinois OF Karisa Evans, JR, Ohio State OF Leigh Murray, SO, Penn State OF Dayna Feenstra, FR, Michigan State DP Piper Marten, SR, Minnesota P Jennie Ritter, SO, Michigan P

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jessica Merchant, Michigan PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Nicole Motycka, Michigan FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Eileen Canney, Northwestern COACH OF THE YEAR: Carol Hutchins, Michigan

* – Unanimous selection