Nov. 21, 2006

FORT WORTH, TEXAS – The Davey O’Brien Foundation today announced three finalists for the 2006 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback. They are, in alphabetical order:

Colt Brennan, Hawai’i, Jr., WAC
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame, Sr., Ind.
Troy Smith, Ohio State, Sr., Big Ten

The organization’s original watch list included 34 players and was narrowed to 18 semifinalists on Nov. 7. The O’Brien Selection Committee, made up of a nationwide panel of sportswriters, commentators and former O’Brien Award winners, will vote later this month to determine the winner who will be announced on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show scheduled for December 7 at 7 p.m. EST. The show will air live from the Atlantic Dance Hall on The Boardwalk at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida. The winner will then be honored on February 19, 2007, at the 30th annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth, Texas, along with Paul Hornung, recipient of the 2006 Davey O’Brien Legends Award, and the O’Brien High School Scholarship Award winner.

In addition to Brennan, Quinn and Smith, the other semifinalists included: Erik Ainge, Tennessee, Jr., SEC; John Beck, BYU, Sr., MWC; John David Booty, USC, Jr., PAC-10; Brian Brohm, Louisville, Jr., Big East; Chad Henne, Michigan, Jr., Big Ten; Kevin Kolb, Houston, Sr., C-USA; Chris Leak, Florida, Sr., SEC; Nate Longshore, California, So., PAC-10; Colt McCoy, Texas, Fr., Big 12; Tyler Palko, Pittsburgh, Sr., Big East; Bobby Reid, Oklahoma State, So., Big 12; JaMarcus Russell, LSU, Jr., SEC; John Stocco, Wisconsin, Sr., Big Ten; Pat White, West Virginia, So., Big East; and Jared Zabransky, Boise State, Sr., WAC.

Celebrating 30 years, the O’Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks. The Davey O’Brien Foundation was established in 1977 to present the O’Brien Memorial Trophy, recognizing an outstanding college football player in the five southwestern states of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981, the award was redirected to be national in scope but limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the award’s namesake, Davey O’Brien. The award carries with it a $10,000 grant to the scholarship program of the university in which the winner is enrolled. A high school scholarship program began in 1986, awarding a $20,000 college scholarship to an outstanding senior student-athlete in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex each year. Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has awarded more than $250,000 to the various O’Brien winners’ universities and more than $400,000 to deserving high school students. Air transportation is provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

For more information, please visit