March 27, 2018

Three Earn ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I Scholar of Distinction Honors


COLUMBUS, Ohio – On the heels of being named a ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad for the 12th straight year, three student-athletes were named as Scholars of Distinction last week. To be eligible, they had to of achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.90 or higher through the first semester of the 2017-18 academic year.

Ohio State’s honorees are Maartje BongersKelsey Nolan and Carolina Vergroesen.

Bongers, a native of Nuenen, The Netherlands, graduated in December with a degree in economics and was Ohio State’s second leading scorer in 2017 with 16 points (five goals, six assists). A member of the 2017 Big Ten All-Tournament Team and NFCHA All-Region squad, Bongers was a multiple-time Academic All-Big Ten and OSU Scholar-Athlete in her time with the Scarlet and Gray.

Nolan, a Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages major, has already been recognized by the Big Ten this year for maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade-point average. She played in all 19 games this past season and has suited up in a total of 24 contests over the past two seasons. This is the second consecutive year Nolan’s been a NFCHA Scholar of Distinction.

Like Nolan, Vergroesen is also a multi-year recipient of the NFHCA Scholar of Distinction, earning it for the third time in her career. The Academic All-Big Ten, Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and OSU Scholar Athlete played in 54 games over the past three seasons after transferring from Rider University and recently graduated with a degree in applied economics.