COLUMBUS, Ohio – Annie Carruthers headlines the list of Ohio State women’s lacrosse award winners as the 2010 American Lacrosse Conference Goalie of the Year, announced Tuesday by the league as it prepares for the ALC Tournament this week in Columbus. Carruthers joins senior Kelly Haggerty as members of the All-ALC First Team, while sophomore Alayna Markwordt earned second-team recognition.

“We have both sides of the field covered with these three,” Sue Stimmel, head coach of the Buckeyes, said. “Annie keeps the ball out of the net on one side and Kelly and Alayna make sure it gets in there on the other.”

Carruthers led the ALC throughout the regular season in save percentage (0.520) and saves per game (10.0) and is ranked third and sixth in the NCAA, respectively in the two categories. The Columbus Academy product made a career-high 22 saves against Northwestern March 24, the second-most of any NCAA goalie in the 2010 season, and has had at least 10 in eight games this year. With 167 to her credit, she is third all-time in single-season saves and needs seven to tie second-place Nicole Morris and her 174 tallied in 1997.

“Annie has been a huge contributor to the team this year,” Stimmel said. “As a first-year starter, we had our concerns, but she has done an absolutely fantastic job and has clearly become comfortable at the position. Annie has gone above where we had expected and hoped she would be, which is a pleasant surprise and needs to be credited to her tremendous work ethic.”

Haggerty and Markwordt return to the all-conference spotlight for the second-consecutive season, each earning the same recognition as a year ago. They comprise one of the most successful scoring duos in NCAA lacrosse, combining for 142 points this season, the fifth-most among Division I scoring tandems. Haggerty leads the Buckeyes with 36 goals and 36 assists, while Markwordt – the 2009 ALC rookie of the year – is second with 40 goals and 29 assists.

“Kelly and Alayna have been the 1-2 punch we have needed the last two years,” Stimmel said. “They have put up a ton of points in the conference and nationally and this is a good recognition for them, especially with all the talented attackers in the ALC.”

Haggerty, a native of West Chester, Pa., holds the all-time record for career points at Ohio State with 238. She is second all-time in career goals and assists, needing just three goals to eclipse the leader in that category – Megan Mirick (143, 1999-2003).

Carruthers is the second ALC Goalie of the Year for the Buckeyes, joining Erin Forquer from the 2003 season. The program has had 29 total all-conference selections, including 17 on the first team.

The Buckeyes open ALC Tournament play at 3 p.m. Thursday against Penn State in Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. For more information on the championships, check the ALC Tournament Central page.

ALC All-Conference Honors
Player of the Year: Katrina Dowd, Northwestern
Goalie of the Year: Annie Carruthers, Ohio State
Rookie of the Year: Ashley Bruns, Florida
Coach of the Year: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern

ALC First Team
Theresa Bucci, Penn State
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt
Annie Carruthers, Ohio State
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern
Sarah Downing, Vanderbilt
Maggie Dunbar, Penn State
Kelly Haggerty, Ohio State
Angela Hughes, Johns Hopkins
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins
Alex Mundy, Vanderbilt
Shannon Smith, Northwestern
Danielle Spencer, Northwestern

ALC Second Team
Ashley Bruns, Florida
Brittany Dashiell, Florida
Jackie Eastman, Penn State
Carter Foote, Vanderbilt
Alex Frank, Northwestern
Cosette Larash, Johns Hopkins
Colleen Magarity, Northwestern
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Colleen McCaffrey, Johns Hopkins
Jamie Reeg, Florida
Candace Rossi, Johns Hopkins
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern
Natalie Wills, Vanderbilt