July 9, 2019

Three Claim Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Honors


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Three members of the Ohio State women’s gymnastics team have earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar status for the 2018-19 season, the conference announced on Tuesday (July 9). Senior Amanda Huang, junior Nevin Adamski and sophomore Morgan Lowe were named to the list.

In order to be eligible, a student-athlete must be in at least her second year on campus and earn a 3.7 or better grade-point average during the 2018-19 academic year. A total of 131 student-athletes were recognized from OSU, surpassing last year’s record total of 129. This is also the fourth consecutive year in which Ohio State has led the Big Ten in total recipients.

Huang, a finance major, and Adamski, a biology major, are both two-time honorees, while Lowe, an exercise science education, is a first-time selection in her first year of eligibility for the honor. Adamski is one of 16 Ohio State student-athletes to earn a perfect 4.0 GPA for the 2018-19 academic year and one of just eight women’s gymnasts in the conference to accomplish the feat.

While Huang graduated in May of 2019 to become an analyst with SunTrust in the wholesale development program, Adamski and Lowe return to the team for upcoming season.