April 27, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 10 Ohio State men’s tennis team had three players, a program record, selected to the 2006 All-Big Ten Team. Ty Tucker, head coach of the Buckeyes, also was named the league’s coach of the year, a unanimous selection, after leading the Buckeyes to a 22-1 overall record and a school best 10-0 record in Big Ten Conference play.

Award winners were announced Thursday in Minneapolis at the annual conference tournament banquet.

Buckeye juniors Devin Mullings (Freeport, Bahamas/Ft. Lauderdale Prepatory) and Chris Klingemann (Bradenton, Fla./Texas Tech Independent) along with freshman Bryan Koniecko (Long Island, N.Y./Syosset) were named to the 2006 all-league team. It is the second career award for Mullings, who was named to the 2005 All-Big Ten team. It is the first all-league honor for Klingemann and Koniecko. Koniecko was the only freshman selected to the 2006 team.

Mullings is 24-9 in singles heading into the quarterfinal match with Wisconsin (11 a.m. Friday) at the 2006 Big Ten Tournament on the University of Minnesota campus. He was 10-0 in Big Ten regular-season play.

Klingemann went 22-6 in singles and 8-2 in the Big Ten. Klingemann and Mullings competed as one of the three doubles teams the Buckeyes used in Big Ten regular-season play. The pair has a record of 20-2 on the year and went 10-0 in the Big Ten. They also have a dual match doubles record of 18-1.

Koniecko was unanimously selected as the 2006 Big Ten Freshman of the Year. He has a record of 20-12 in singles and went 7-3 in singles in the Big Ten regular season. Koniecko has a doubles record of 21-5 and is 18-2 with Drew Eberly (So. Lake Forest, Ill./Lake Forest). The pair went 9-1 in the Big Ten. Koniecko is currently ranked the No. 40 singles player in the country in the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association poll released April 25.

It is Tucker’s second career coach of the year honor. His first was in 2001. With the win over Wisconsin last Sunday, Tucker earned his 150th career win at the helm of the Buckeyes, which ranks second all-time among men’s tennis coaches at Ohio State. Tucker has a Big Ten record of 69-16 in seven seasons at Ohio State.

Senior Scott Green (North Canton, Ohio/Hoover) was the 2006 Sportsmanship Award Honoree from Ohio State. He is part of the No. 1-ranked doubles team in the country and is second all-time in career doubles wins at Ohio State with 112. His doubles partner, senior Ross Wilson (Toledo, Ohio/Toledo St. Francis de Sales) is the Ohio State career doubles wins record holder with 113.

A complete list of the 2006 All-Big Ten team and postseason honorees appears below.

Athlete of the Year
Ryler DeHeart, Illinois*

Freshman of the Year
Bryan Koniecko, Ohio State*

Coach of the Year
Ty Tucker, Ohio State*

2006 All-Big Ten Team 2006 Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Kevin Anderson, Illinois Pramod Dabir, Illinois
Ryler DeHeart, Illinois* Neil Kenner, Indiana
Dima Ishtuganov, Indiana Bart van Monsjou, Iowa
Matko Maravic, Michigan* Brian Hung, Michigan
Nick Rinks, Michigan State Mike Flowers, Michigan State
D.J. Geatz, Minnesota* Adrien Debreyne, Minnesota
Christian Tempke, Northwestern Adam Schaechterle, Northwestern
Chris Klingemann, Ohio State* Scott Green, Ohio State
Bryan Koniecko, Ohio State Mark Barry, Penn State
Devin Mullings, Ohio State Eric Hodgman, Purdue
Mark Barry, Penn State* Lachezar Kasarov, Wisconsin
Jeremy Sonkin, Wisconsin*

*unanimous selection