June 13, 2019

Three Buckeyes Placed on NCAA Tournament All-Decade Team


FOLLOW @OhioStateMVB:         
Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Three Buckeyes — Pete Hanson, Shawn Sangrey and Nicolas Szerszen — were named to the NCAA Tournament All-Decade Team released by Off the Block.  Fifteen student-athletes and one head coach, Hanson, were selected for the honor which “recognizes the best performances in the Division I-II men’s volleyball NCAA Tournament since 2010.”

Ohio State’s three members were only matched by Loyola Chicago and Long Beach State, both of which placed three student-athletes on the squads.

Setter: Chris Austin, UC Irvine
Setter: Josh Tuaniga, Long Beach State
Opposite: Kyle Ensing, Long Beach State
Opposite: Geoff Powell, Lewis
Opposite: Shawn Sangrey, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Cody Caldwell, Loyola
Outside attacker: TJ DeFalco, Long Beach State
Outside attacker: Thomas Jaeschke, Loyola
Outside attacker: Brad Lawson, Stanford
Outside attacker: Brenden Sander, BYU
Outside attacker: Taylor Sander, BYU
Outside attacker: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Middle attacker: Scott Kevorken, UC Irvine
Middle attacker: Nicholas Olson, Loyola
Libero: Connor Curry, Penn State
Head coach: Pete Hanson, Ohio State

From Off the Block⤵

Pete Hanson, Ohio State
NCAA Tournament appearances (since 2010):
 2010, 2011, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
NCAA Tournament championships: 2011, 2016, 2017
Hanson guided the Buckeyes to three NCAA championships — the most titles for any school this decade. Ohio State topped off this run by sweeping on its home court both Hawai’i and BYU to win the 2017 title and repeat as national champions. Ohio State under Hanson also became the first non-West Coast program to win three NCAA championships.

Shawn Sangrey, Ohio State
NCAA Tournament appearances from this decade:
 2010, 2011
NCAA Tournament championships: 2011
NCAA Tournament honors: 2011 All-Tournament Team
Sangrey set the NCAA Tournament single-match record during the 25-point rally scoring era with 30 kills as Ohio State defeated UC Santa Barbara in five games to win the 2011 national championship. The opposite had double-digit kills in all three of his NCAA Tournament matches during the decade. He also had at least five blocks in both matches at the 2011 NCAA Tournament.

Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
NCAA Tournament appearances:
 2016, 2017, 2018
NCAA Tournament championships: 2016, 2017
NCAA Tournament honors: 2016 All-Tournament Team, 2017 Most Outstanding Player, 2017 All-Tournament Team, 2018 All-Tournament Team
Szerszen had double-digit kills in all eight of the NCAA Tournament matches during his career and led the Buckeyes to back-to-back national championships. He also hit at least .400 in his final five NCAA Tournament matches, including 16 kills on a .480 attack percentage in a sweep against BYU in the 2017 finals. In addition, Szerszen the previous year set the all-time NCAA Tournament record with 12 aces en route to the Buckeyes winning the national title. Along with his offensive and serving performances, Szerszen had double-digit digs in three career NCAA Tournament matches. He also set the 25-point rally scoring era record in a four-game match with 16 digs as Ohio State beat George Mason in the 2016 play-in match.