Nov. 10, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Three standouts from the Ohio State men’s soccer team have earned national honors from Top Drawer Soccer, the online publication announced this week. Junior goalkeeper Casey Latchem (Perrysburg, Ohio/Perrysburg) and junior forward Xavier Balc (Hudson, Ohio/Hudson) were among the 20 named to the second-team, while junior defender Eric Brunner (Dublin, Ohio/Scioto/Maryland) appeared on the third-team.

That trio helped lead Ohio State to an 11-7-3 overall record and a No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Championship, where the Buckeyes advanced to the title game last Sunday. A 1-0 loss to Indiana affectively ended Ohio State’s season when the Buckeyes were left out of the 48-team NCAA tournament field, announced Monday.

Ohio State postseason notes and quotes will be announced next week.

Latchem, who was in goal for every minute this season, collected 10 shutouts, one shy of the Ohio State record, and a 0.79 goals against average. Balc led the Big Ten in scoring with seven goals and nine assists, while Brunner added two goals and two assists. All three started all 21 games this season and Balc and Brunner were first-team All-Big Ten selections.

Below are Top Drawer Soccer’s five national teams of the year.

1st Team
1. Mike Gustavson, South Carolina
2. Jason Landers, St. Johns
3. Chris Seitz, Maryland
1. Julius James, Connecticut
2. Jay Needham, SMU
3. Andre Sherard, North Carolina
4. Julian Valentin, Wake Forest
5. Rob Valentino, San Francisco
1. Greg Dalby, Notre Dame
2. John DiRaimondo, St. Louis
3. Sinisa Ubiparipovic, Akron
4. Mike Videira, Duke
5. Sal Zizzo, UCLA
1. Charlie Davies, Boston College
2. Mike Grella, Duke
3. Jeffrey Gonsalves, Rhode Island
4. Joe Lapira, Notre Dame
5. Riley O’Neill, Kentucky
6. Randi Patterson, UNC-Greensboro
7. Jarrod Smith, West Virginia

2nd Team
1. Brian Edwards, Wake Forest
2. Mike Graczyk, New Mexico
3. Casey Latchem, Ohio State
1. Trevor Banks, Old Dominion
2. Matt Besler, Notre Dame
3. Hugh MacDonald, Monmouth
4. Steve Purdy, California
5. Karl Schilling, Connecticut
1. Nico Colaluca, Virginia
2. Maurice Edu, Maryland
3. Peter Lowry, Santa Clara
4. Ryan Solle, Wake Forest
5. Chase Wileman, SMU
1. Xavier Balc, Ohio State
2. Omar Cummings, Cincinnati
3. Rodrigo Hidalgo, South Florida
4. Jerson Monteiro, UAB
5. Dane Richards, Clemson
6. Tonci Skroce, Illinois-Chicago
7. Michael Todd, Hofstra

3rd Team
1. Kyle Reynish, UC Santa Barbara
2. Phil Marfuggi, Clemson
3. Conrad Taylor, Penn State
1. Rhett Bernstein, Brown
2. Eric Brunner, Ohio State
3. Sean Franklin, Cal State Northridge
4. Kyle Helton, Duke
5. Jon Leathers, Furman
1. Kurt Morsink, James Madison
2. Nate Norman, Notre Dame
3. David Roth, Northwestern
4. Jeff Stepan, St. Johns
5. Kevin Walsh, Memphis
1. Kevin Forrest, Washington
2. Sebastian Hansel, Towson
3. Patrick Nyarko, Virginia Tech
4. Simon Omekanda, Penn State
5. Mike Sambursky, South Carolina
6. Jordan Seabrook, South Florida
7. O’Brian White, Connecticut

4th Team
1. Jovan Bubonja, Illinois-Chicago
2. Chris Cahill, Notre Dame
3. Zach Riffett, Boston University
1. Mynor Gonzalez, SMU
2. Michael Harrington, North Carolina
3. Aaron Hohlbein, Wisconsin
4. Andy Iro, UC Santa Barbara
5. Bakary Soumare, Virginia
1. Bruno Guarda, SMU
2. Neil Hlavaty, Boston University
3. Teddy Niziolek, Seton Hall
4. Eric Sweetin, St. Louis
5. Josh Tudela, Indiana
1. Kenny Anaba, Cincinnati
2. Javier Ayala-Hil, California
3. Steven Holloway, Monmouth
4. Michael Kraus, Creighton
5. Frederico Moojen, Clemson
6. Spencer Wadsworth, Duke
7. Kenzo Webster, Michigan State

Fifth team — Goalkeepers
1. Eric Sciocchetti, Richmond
2. Roger Scully, Vermont
3. Jake Settle, Wisconsin
1. Scott Bolkan, Stanford
2. Sam Brill, Boston College
3. Kyle Grato, Rutgers
4. Kenny Cook, Massachusetts
5. Georgios Spanos, St. Johns
1. Ruben Ayarna, Boston College
2. Michael D’Agostino, Kentucky
3. Stephen King, Maryland
4. Akeen Priestly, Connecticut
5. Andrew Wright, West Virginia
1. Raphael Cox, Washington
2. Adam Cristman, Virginia
3. Edson Elcock, Old Dominion
4. Eliseo Giusfredi, Seton Hall
5. Saidi Isaac, Winthrop
6. Kiki Willis, Elon
7. Darren Yeagle, Indiana

### GO BUCKS! ###