May 18, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Big Ten Conference championships kicked off Friday afternoon with the men’s hammer throw competition. Three Buckeyes claimed Top 10 finishes to give Ohio State nine points in the event. Justin Cavinee (Jr., West Jefferson, Ohio) placed fifth in the event, leading the Buckeyes with a toss of 59.40 meters. John Norman (Jr., Kent, Ohio), ranked No. 8 in the conference, finished in sixth place with a measure of 56.48 meters. Andrew Saurer (Jr., Smithville, Ohio) was as good as his No. 7 ranking, recording a mark of 55.98 meters. Purdue’s Chris Brown went on to win the event, notching a mark of 67.44 meters.

Events continue Saturday at 9:30 a.m. with the decathlon 110-meter hurdles. Ohio State’s first event Saturday is the men’s long jump, where Drew Carter (Fr., Solon, Ohio), Nosa Ehimwenman (Fr., Homewood, Ill.) and Billy Mills (Fr., Copley, Ohio) will do battle with the Big Ten’s best. The women get underway at 2:10 p.m. with the running of the 4×100-meter relay.

Big Ten Conference Championships, May 18, 2001
Bloomington, Ind., Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex
Ohio State Results

Big Ten Men’s Team Scores (After one event)

1. Purdue (16 points)

2. Iowa (13 points)

3. Ohio State (9 points)

4. Minnesota (1 point)

Men’s Hammer Throw

1. Chris Brown Purdue 67.44 meters (221’03”)

2. Arnold VanderWesthuize Iowa 65.62 meters (215’03”)

3. Igor Kirin Purdue 61.66 meters (202’03”)

5. Justin Cavinee Ohio State 59.40 meters (194’10”)

6. John Norman Ohio State 56.48 meters (185’04”)

7. Andrew Saurer Ohio State 55.98 meters (183’08”)