March 3, 2012

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – Three members of the Ohio State fencing squad claimed gold in individual competition at the 2012 Midwest Fencing Conference Championships in South Bend, Ind., Saturday. The event continues Sunday with team competitions.

Ohio State led all schools with 12 fencers earning medals. For full results, visit

Alison Miller finished atop the women’s sabre standings as the Scarlet and Gray claimed three of the top four spots. Miller was 5-0 in pool play before downing teammates in three consecutive bouts to claim the title. The Chicago, Ill., native narrowly defeated Chelsea Martinez, 15-13, in the quarterfinals before earning a championship berth with a 15-9 victory over Celina Merza. Miller edged Margarita Tschomakova, 15-9, to claim her first MFC title.

The men’s sabre final was also an all-Buckeye affair as Max Stearns and Rhys Douglas advanced to the championship. Douglas proved victorious, 15-9, to earn his second gold in two years at the event.

Daniel Tafoya also defended his title in men’s epee after taking gold a year ago. Tafoya slipped by teammate Ognjen Vesic, 10-9, in the semifinals before defeating Northwestern’s Maciek Zmyslowski by another one-point margin, 13-12, to take first.

In women’s epee, Caroline Piasecka led the way for Ohio State by tying for third while teammate Katarzyna Dabrowa finished fifth. Freshman sisters Mona Shaito and Mai Shaito claimed third and sixth, respectively, in women’s foil.

The Buckeyes proved their skill in men’s foil, taking three of the top four spots. Chris Colley collected silver, while Andrew McDonald and Zain Shaito tied for third.

2012 MFC Championships
March 3, 2012
South Bend, Ind.

1 – Alison Miller
2 – Margarita Tschomakova
T3 – Celina Merza
8 – Chelsea Martinez
11 – Emily Cheng

T3 – Caroline Piasecka
5 – Katarzyna Dabrowa
19 – Laura Gurnowski

T3 – Mona Shaito
6 – Mai Shaito
9 – Allison Henvick
11 – Nina Stackhouse
20 – Isabella Bonello

1 – Rhys Douglas
2 – Max Stearns
5 – Ewan Douglas
9 – Max Mogg

1 – Daniel Tafoya
T3 – Ognjen Vesic
7 – Kristian Boyadzhiev
8 – Narayan Pathi
11 – Marco Canevari
13 – Igor Tolkachev
15 – Eric Philippou
20 – Gavin Medley

2 – Chris Colley
T3 – Andrew McDonald
T3 – Zain Shaito
T5 – Robert Moore
10 – Samuel Hardwicke-Brown