Nov. 18, 2003

COLUMBUS, Ohio – A trio of Ohio State men’s soccer student-athletes have earned postseason All-Big Ten awards. Ohio State senior AJ Weber (Aurora, Colo./Smoky Hill) has been named second team All-Big Ten, freshman Taylor Korpieski (Westerville, Ohio/Thomas Worthington) has been named to the All-Freshman team and senior David Ridenhour (Germantown, Tenn./Houston) has been named to the All-Big Ten tournament team.

Weber, who earned honors as a defender, started all 20 games for the Buckeyes this season and was an invaluable member of the Ohio State defense, which ranked second in the Big Ten in fewest goals allowed (1.33 in Big Ten play). He ranked second on the team in shots with 26 and shots on goal percentage at .423. Weber collected one goal and two assists, both of which came in Big Ten play, which ranked him seventh (tie) in the league in assists per game (0.33).

Korpieski, who earned a spot on the all-freshman team as a midfielder, was the Buckeyes’ top scorer this season with two goals and two assists for six points. Both of his goals and both of his assists came in Big Ten play. He played in 18 games this season and started in eleven. In Big Ten play, he ranked seventh (tie) in points per game (1.00), goals per game (0.33) and assists per game (0.33).

Ridenhour, a defender, earned a spot on the 11-member All-Big Ten tournament team. He served as the Buckeyes’ captain this season and started all 20 games in the talented Ohio State defensive unit. He added one goal on the season and one assist. An Academic All-Big Ten selection, Ridenhour was recently named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District IV team and is on the ballot for Academic All-America honors.

The fourth-seeded Buckeyes were knocked out of the Big Ten tournament last Thursday by Wisconsin to see their season come to a close with a 4-12-4 overall record and a 2-3-1 mark in the Big Ten. A total of 14 Ohio State opponents appeared in the national polls at some point this season, while seven are among the field of 48 schools that have been selected for the NCAA tournament, which begins this weekend and will conclude Dec. 12 and 14 in Crew Stadium as the College Cup returns to Columbus.