Feb. 19, 2007

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s diving squad swept the three diving events at the 2007 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships. The Buckeyes won the 1- and 3-meter springboards and finished the meet with a win on the platform. What made the accomplishment unique was the fact the sweep was completed by three different divers, something never before been seen from any school in the Big Ten.

Berkley Showe (Fr., Worthington, Ohio/Thomas Worthington) set the meet record with 379.80 points to win the 1-meter springboard Friday. Then Saturday, Kellen Harkness (Sr., Puyallup, Wash./Cascade Christian) won the 3-meter board with 406.75 points to set the pool record. Wes Wieser (So., Chesterfield, Mo./Parkway Central) completed the sweep Sunday nailing his final dive to finish with 394.80 points and win the platform event.

Platform diving first appeared on the Big Ten schedule in 1972, but did not return until 1988. All three events have been contested at the Big Ten championships every year since platform came back on the championship itinerary. This is the fifth time a school swept all three events. The previous four times, the same diver won all three events. Ohio State’s Patrick Jeffrey was the first two sweep the three events in 1988. Indiana’s Mark Lenzi swept all three boards the following year. Ohio State’s David Pichler swept in 1992 and Minnesota’s P.J. Bogart was the last individual to sweep, claiming the 1- and 3-meter and platform titles in 1995.

Showe, Harkness and Wieser all earned First Team All-Big Ten honors for their efforts over the weekend. Harknes earned Big Ten Diver of the Year honors and shared diver of the championship honors with Showe, who also shared Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors. Five divers scored 141 of the Buckeyes’ 495 team points, which helped spark Ohio State to a third-place finish by the men’s swimming and diving team at the Big Ten championships. It was the best finish by the team at the meet since 1996.

Wieser scored 41 points and was the only Buckeye to compete in all three diving events. Showe and Harkness each scored 35 points, while Ryan Jefferson (Fr., Madison, Wis./Edgewood) scored 17 and Nick Hanneman (Sr., Upper Arlington, Ohio/Upper Arlington) tallied 13.

Ohio State diving coach Vince Panzano, who is in his 27th season at his alma mater, was named the Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year for the sixth time since the award was established in 1987. He also was the coach of the year in 1987, 1992, 1993, 2002 and 2004.

The Buckeye diving squad will return to action March 2-4 at the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships in Ann Arbor, Mich. Divers who qualify will then move on to the NCAA Championships March 15-17 in Minneapolis, Minn.