Nov. 7, 2006

The Jim Thorpe Award Screening Committee in Oklahoma City has announced 11 semi-finalists for the award given annually to the nation’s best college defensive back.

This list will be narrowed on November 20, to three finalists who will be invited to the nationally telecast ESPN College Football Awards Show on December 7. The winner will be announced on the show and the official presentation will be at a formal banquet in Oklahoma City on February 12, 2007.

The 2006 award marks the 20th anniversary of the trophy, first presented in 1986 to Baylor’s Thomas Everett. Everett and Miami’s Bennie Blades, the second Thorpe Award winner, will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame during ceremonies in New York on December 5.

Thorpe Award winners are selected for performance on the field, athletic ability and character. Last year’s winner was Texas University standout Michael Huff, now playing for the Oakland Raiders.

The 2006 semi-finalists are:
Antoine Cason, Jr., Arizona
Leon Hall, Sr., Michigan
Daymeion Hughes, Sr., Calfornia
LaRon Landry, Sr., LSU
Marcus McCauley, Sr., Fresno State
Reggie Nelson, Jr., Florida
Darrelle Revis Jr., Pittsburgh
Aaron Ross, Sr., Texas
Antonio Smith, Sr., Ohio State
Eric Weddle, Sr., Utah
Tom Zbikowski, Sr., Notre Dame