July 3, 2018

Thirty-Six Buckeyes Mark Most From Any School On CSCAA Scholar All-America Team


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Thirty-six members of the Ohio State men and women’s swimming and diving program have been selected to the College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America team, part of a record-breaking class of 1,069 swimmers and divers on the First Team and 1,137 student-athletes selected as Honorable Mentions.

CSCAA Release

Thirty-six athletes combined from the men and women’s team makes up the most scholar-athlete honorees from a single program in all of Division I swimming. Twenty women and 16 men make up the Ohio State representatives, accounting for the second-most from any school for both genders among Division I programs.

To be selected as a First Team Scholar All-American, students must have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and competed at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

A record 10 women and five men were recognized as First Team Scholar All-Americans, including Meg Bailey, Maria Coy, Kathrin Demler, Hanna Gresser, Molly Kowal, Liz Li, Macie McNichols, Kristen Romano, Lara Tarvit and Katie Trace on the women’s side, while Nick Hogsed, Noah Lense, Henrique Painhas, Jacob Siler and Clay White were the men’s team selections.

Honorable Mention selections must have also achieved a 3.50 GPA, as well as a “B” time standard or competed at an NCAA Regional or Zone Diving qualifier.

Genevieve Angerame, Katie Antal, Alexis Barker, Natalia Jaspeado, Devin Landstra, Amanda McNulty, Cheyenne Meek, Taylor Petrak, Sarah Sperber and Kerrigan Vargo were the Honorable Mention selections for the women’s team. Carson Burt, Nathan Christian, Daniel Gloude, Connor Isings, Colin McDermott, Evan McFadden, J. Reed McGraw, Greg Nymberg, Brayden Seal, Ben Sugar and Thomas Trace earned the honor for the men’s team.