April 29, 2020

The 2017 Buckeyes – #2 Seed


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

The 2017 Ohio State men’s volleyball team put on a show for 8,000+ Buckeye fans assembled at St. John Arena during the NCAA Championships when capturing the program’s second straight national title. The group now virtually returns to the court for the ‘Best of the Buckeyes Bracket.’

With a 32-2 record (.941), the 2017 Buckeyes are slotted as the No. 2 seed and jump directly into the semifinals on Thursday, May 7 (updated bracket below).

The ’17 Buckeyes picked up right where the ’16 squad left off. A 42-match winning streak spanned those two seasons and lasted 399 days. It represented the longest victorious stretch in MIVA history, tied for the third longest all-time among NCAA men’s volleyball teams and still remains the longest winning streak in OSU Athletics lore for teams competing head-to-head.

Ohio State’s dominance carried over into the postseason, sweeping all four opponents in the MIVA and NCAA Tournaments. The Buckeyes capped it off by sending away Hawaii and BYU in three sets apiece to raise the NCAA trophy on their home floor in Columbus.

Nicolas Szerszen picked up Most Outstanding Player honors for the national tourney and was one of five Buckeyes placed on the NCAA All-Tournament Team (also Christy Blough, Driss Guessous, Maxime Hervoir, Blake Leeson).

National Player of the Year – Szerszen (Volleyball Magazine)
First Team – Blough, Johnson, Szerszen
Honorable Mention – Driss Guessous, Gabriel Domecus

Player of the Year – Szerszen
First Team – Blough, Johnson, Szerszen
Second Team – Domecus, Guessous
Honorable Mention – Maxime Hervoir
All-Tournament Team – Blough, Johnson (MOP), Szerszen

Pete Hanson – MIVA Coach of the Year

Guessous| .473 hitting percentage (ranks 7th in school history)


Ohio State Buckeyes