April 28, 2020

The 2016 Buckeyes – #3 Seed


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

The 2016 Ohio State men’s volleyball team secured the program’s second national championship and is now in search of a ‘Best of the Buckeyes’ trophy as one of seven Buckeye squads selected for the virtual bracket.

With a 31-2 record (.939), the 2016 Buckeyes are seeded 3rd and await the winner of the 6th-seeded 2000 group and 7th-seeded 2011 NCAA champions (see bracket below).

The ’16 Buckeyes snatched up every trophy in sight, wrangling the MIVA regular season, MIVA Tournament and NCAA national titles. Sophomore Nicolas Szerszen became the first National Player of the Year in school history while junior Miles Johnson earned Most Outstanding Player (MOP) recognition for the NCAA Tournament. Redshirt freshman Blake Leeson joined Johnson and Szerszen on the NCAA All-Tournament Team and delivered the title-clinching kill.

National Player of the Year – Szerszen
First Team – Johnson, Szerszen
Second Team – Christy Blough
Honorable Mention – Gabriel Domecus

Player of the Year – Szerszen (AVCA)
First Team – Blough, Domecus, Johnson, Szerszen
Second Team – Christian Franceschi
Honorable Mention – Blake Leeson
All-Tournament Team – Blough, Johnson, Szerszen (MOP)

Pete Hanson – National Coach of the Year, MIVA Coach of the Year

Szerszen | 63 aces (ranks 2nd in school history); 513 kills (4th)
Domecus | 250 digs (4th)
Franceschi | 46 aces (t-8th)
Johnson | 46 aces (t-8th)


Ohio State Buckeyes