April 30, 2020

The 1969 Buckeyes – #1 Seed


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

The 1969 Ohio State men’s volleyball team ran the table, going 24-0 to complete an undefeated season. Their next challenge? The ‘Best of the Buckeyes’ Bracket running May 1-9.

With the unblemished 24-0 record (1.000), the 1969 Buckeyes are the top seed and have been placed directly into the semifinals (see complete bracket below).

The ’69 Buckeyes not only threw up a ‘0’ in the loss column, but they dropped just five sets all season long. Ohio State was victorious in 52 of 57 sets en route to the 1969 Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association title. Unfortunately, the NCAA Championships did not start until the following season in 1970, leaving the ’69 Buckeyes with having to settle for the 24-0 mark and conference crown. Ohio State did, however, rattle off five consecutive triumphs to win the ‘College Division Tournament,’ a stretch that included victory over _ichigan.

Only three teams have registered an undefeated campaign in the 50+ years since Ohio State did so in 1969.

Second Team – Beal

Player of the Year – Beal
First Team – Beal, Richard Leuders, Mike Noonan
Second Team – Richard Waltz

Karl Dunlap – MIVA Coach of the Year



⬆️ DOUG BEAL – 1969 MIVA Player of the Year went on to become an Olympic gold medal winning U.S. Men’s National Team head coach and USA Volleyball CEO

Ohio State Buckeyes