September 11, 2019

Thad Matta – Hall of Fame Weekend


The Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2019 was inducted over the weekend. The group was officially welcomed at a dinner Friday in the Ohio Union and introduced to the crowd at halftime of the Buckeye football game Saturday in Ohio Stadium.

Listen: Thad Matta HOF Introduction

Thad Matta, the all-time winningest coach in Ohio State history, was among the inductees. He coached for 13 seasons (2005-2017) and recorded 337 total wins.

His teams made nine NCAA Tournament appearances, advanced to five “Sweet Sixteens,” three “Elite Eights,” two Final Fours and one national title game.

The Buckeyes also won five Big Ten regular-season titles and four Big Ten Tournament crowns.

His players also had great success under his guidance. Evan Turner was the 2010 National Player of the Year. Jared Sullinger earned 2011 National Freshman of the Year. Greg Oden (2007) and Aaron Craft (2014) each was named the national defensive player of the year.


Three of his teams reached the 30 win plateau with the 2007 squad setting an Ohio State record for wins with a 35-4 record.