Senior defenseman is third Buckeye to compete in the hockey exhibition
ST. CLOUD, Minn. Tessa Bonhomme, a senior defenseman on the Ohio State women’s hockey team, has been selected to compete at the NCAA Frozen Four Skills Challenge, the NCAA announced Thursday. The event will be held April 11 at the Pepsi Center in Denver, Colo., as part of the 2008 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four. Bonhomme, of Sudbury, Ontario, is the third Buckeye to compete in the three-year old event featuring men’s and women’s hockey players from Division I and III levels competing in various hockey skills.

The competition is conducted in an East vs. West format with each team having six male position players, six female position players, two male goaltenders and two female goaltenders. The players were selected by representatives from the American Hockey Coaches Association, the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee and NCAA national office staff. The competitions will include puck control relay, fastest skater, hardest shot, rapid fire shooting, accuracy shooting and penalty shot.

Along with Bonhomme, who leads the NCAA in defenseman points per game with 1.28, the West women’s competitors include Courtney DeHoey of Lake Forest; Karine Demeule of Minnesota Duluth; Bobbi Ross of Minnesota; Shannon Moulson of Niagara and Laura Fast of St. Cloud State. The two female goaltenders will be Laura Hosier of Mercyhurst and Britni Kehler of Minnesota State. Fellow Buckeye Tommy Goebel will compete for the West men’s team.

Former Buckeyes goaltender Erika Vanderveer (2007) and forward Jana Harrigan (2006) have also participated in the Skills Challenge.

The Frozen Four Skills Challenge will begin at 7 p.m. (MT) and will be preceded by the presentation of the Hobey Baker Memorial Award at 5:30 p.m., and the Hockey Humanitarian Award at 6:05 p.m. The Frozen Four Skills Challenge and the Hobey Baker Award will both be shown live on ESPNU.