Feb. 19, 2007

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Junior defenseman Tessa Bonhomme is a Top 10 finalist for the 2007 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, the USA Hockey Foundation announced Monday. Bonhomme joins former Buckeyes Jana Harrigan (2006), Jeni Creary (2002) and Emma Laaksonen (2002) as Ohio State finalists for the award that honors the top NCAA Division I women’s college hockey student-athlete.

Bonhomme, a native of Sudbury, Ontario, is a co-captain for Ohio State this season. After redshirting the 2005-06 season while participating in the Canadian National Women’s Centralization Program in preparation for the 2006 Winter Olympics, Bonhomme returned to the Buckeyes this season and has had one of the best performances for a defenseman in the nation. She ranks third on the team in scoring with 34 points, the fourth-most by a defenseman in Ohio State history. Her point total ranks fourth in the WCHA in overall defenseman scoring.

Nationally, Bonhomme is third in the NCAA defenseman point rankings with 1.13 points per game. Her 14 goals are the second-most by any blueliner in the nation and lead all WCHA defensemen. She leads the Buckeyes with four game-winning goals. Seventeen of Bonhomme’s points have been scored on the power play, including six goals, as she is an anchor in Ohio State’s top power play and penalty kill units. She has nine multiple-point games and only four games this season has she had a minus rating. Bonhomme has been named WCHA Defensive Player of the Week three times this season (Oct. 10, Nov. 28 and Jan. 2).

The Top 10 finalists for the award will be reduced to three finalists to be announced March 5. The three finalists are chosen by a 13-member selection committee comprised of NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media and a representative of USA Hockey. The winner of the 2007 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be announced March 17 in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four in Lake Placid, N.Y.

2007 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Top 10 Finalists
Meghan Agosta, Fr. , F, Mercyhurst College
Gillian Apps, Sr., F, Dartmouth College
Sara Bauer, Sr., F , University of Wisconsin
Tessa Bonhomme, Jr., D, The Ohio State University
Julie Chu , Sr., F, Harvard University
Martine Garland, Jr., D, University of New Hampshire
Sabrina Harbec, Jr., F, St. Lawrence University
Noemie Marin, Sr., F, University of Minnesota Duluth
Meaghan Mikkelson, Sr., D, University of Wisconsin
Sarah Vaillancourt, So., F, Harvard University

An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award recognizes the accomplishments of the most outstanding player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey each season. Other selection criteria include outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given for academic achievement and civic involvement.

The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letterwinner and All-Ivy League defenseman for Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died Feb. 15, 1990 at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.