May 26, 2023

Tess Thompson Earns NCAA Rowing Elite 90 Award


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State rower Tess Thompson was named the recipient of the Elite 90 Award Saturday at the 2023 NCAA Championships at Camden County Boathouse in Pennsauken, N.J. She is the first Buckeye rower to earn the award.

Thompson is just the ninth Buckeye and fourth female Ohio State student-athlete to take home the esteemed award. The senior from Naperville, Ill. is also just the fourth Big Ten rower to earn the honor.

The Elite 90 recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 90 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 90 championships.

Thompson, who started rowing in college, helped the V8 finish seventh at the 2022 NCAA Championships and will play a crucial role in the boat’s performance at this weekend’s national championship regatta.

The two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar has also earned Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and CRCA Scholar-Athlete honors three times.

A Spring 2023 graduate of Ohio State with degrees in sport industry and human development and family science, Thompson finished her undergraduate academic career with a perfect 4.0 grade point average. She will return for a fifth year and will be pursing a master’s degree in kinesiology with a focus in sport management. Following the 2023 season, she has been selected to attend the NCAA 2023 Career in Sports Forum.

Ohio State Elite 90 Award Winners

2022-23 – Tess Thompson – Rowing
2017-18 – Jacyn Reeves – Women’s Hockey
2017-18 – Sean Romeo – Men’s Hockey
2016-17 – Christian Blough – Men’s Volleyball
2012-13 – Max Stearns – Fencing
2011-12 – Aaron Craft – Men’s Basketball
2010-11 – Justin Farra – Men’s Swimming and Diving
2010-11 – Courtney Jenkins – Women’s Soccer
2009-10 – Andrew Elliott – Men’s Swimming and Diving