July 1, 2020

Ten From Women’s Lacrosse Earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Honors


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ten women’s lacrosse student-athletes were among the 164 Ohio State Buckeyes that earned the prestigious honor of being named a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar on Wednesday. In order to be eligible, a student-athlete must have maintained at least a 3.70 grade-point average during the 2019-20 academic year and have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition.

The honorees from women’s lacrosse are:

  • Ali Beekhuizen, a psychology major from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
  • Sage Darling, a speech and hearing science major from Lakefield, Ontario
  • Regina Doty, a civil engineering major from St. Louis, Mo.
  • Lindsay Epstein, a communication major from Marietta, Ga.
  • MK George, a psychology major from Monmouth Beach, N.J.
  • Sarah George, a child and youth studies major from Monmouth Beach, N.J.
  • Ava Keethler, an exercise science education major from Upper Arlington, Ohio
  • Jill Rizzo, a marketing major from Queensbury, N.J.
  • Emily Skrzypczak, a health sciences major from Bruke, Va.
  • Caroline Tatsuoka, a mathematics major from Hunting Valley, Ohio

George, Darling, Skrzypczak and Rizzo were among eight student-athletes who earned their undergraduate degrees this past May. As a team, the women’s lacrosse program produced 29 OSU Scholar-Athletes this past year and had a cumulative grade-point average of 3.356. The Spring 2020 semester GPA was 3.718.